Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Many of you have approached me recently and said, “Mama, I’m having a holiday party and I need an idea for a tasty appetizer”. Well, I think I have just the thing for you if you want something with potatoes, bacon and cheese that will pop right into your mouth. You will be amazed at how much flavor is packed into this one bite. But actually, if you’re a bit more genteel, it will be two bites. But I digress.

When entertaining for the masses, I’m a gal who likes to do as much prep work in advance so I’m not so overwhelmed the day of the party. Mini Stuffed Potatoes are an appetizer you can prepare two days in advance. You can stuff the potatoes with the mixture, and then wrap them in plastic and place in the refrigerator. An hour or so before you’re ready to serve them, let the potatoes sit out on the counter to come to room temperature.  Next, sprinkle them with the cheese and place them in a 425 degree F oven for about ten minutes until they are heated through and browned on the top. It’s quite the festive treat.

This holiday season my friends, hold your loved one’s very close. Mama wishes you all the best for the New Year.

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

From Fine Cooking

  • 24 baby Yukon Gold or red potatoes, each about 2 inches across (2 to 2-1/4 lb.)
  • 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • 2 tsp. chopped fresh thyme
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 oz. bacon (about 3 thick slices), cooked until crispy and crumbled
  • 6 Tbs. thinly sliced fresh chives
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup coarsely grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 450°F. Place the potatoes in a medium sized bowl and toss with the olive oil. Sprinkle with 1 tsp. of the thyme, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, and toss again. Transfer the potatoes to a rimmed baking sheet. Bake the potatoes until they feel perfectly tender when pierced with a skewer, 20 to 25 minutes. Remove from the oven and let rest until cool enough to handle, about 10 minutes.
  2. Carefully hollow out each potato: Decide which is the flatest surface of the potato to give it the most stability, then begin by slicing off the top; use a small spoon (I had a tiny mini spoon that worked great)or a melon baller to scoop out most of the flesh inside, transferring it to a medium bowl. Discard the tops. Mash the potato flesh with a masher or a fork, then combine it with the bacon, 1/4 cup of the chives, the sour cream, the remaining 1 tsp. thyme, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Season to taste with more salt and pepper.
  3. I used my fingers to fill the hollowed potatoes with this mixture; it should mound a bit. Sprinkle on the cheese.
  4. Return the potatoes to the 450°F oven and bake until the filling heats through, 8 to 10 minutes. Sprinkle with the remaining chives and serve warm.

Recipe: Intermediate

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

P.S. For another tasty holiday appetizer, click here to view the recipe for Curried Scallop Cakes.

Mini Stuffed Potatoes

Mini Stuffed Potatoes


29 Comments on “Mini Stuffed Potatoes”

  1. Leah says:

    These are absolutely adorable and sound delicious. I’m such a potato lover that I don’t think I could limit myself to just one or two though. 😉

  2. The first thing that comes to mind is cute! The second thing is mouth-watering! Yum!

  3. www.macuisineetvous.com says:

    nice shoot
    Benoit
    http://mesphotosetvous.wordpress.com

  4. My mouth is watering.

  5. These are fab – perfect party food!

  6. jeksca says:

    This looks so good! I love potatoes.

  7. petit4chocolatier says:

    I am so craving these right now. Adorably delicious 🙂

  8. df says:

    Lovely idea! There are potato lovers over here who will go for this!

  9. Clover says:

    What cute little taters! Kind of look like tasty Hobbit food! 😉

  10. Villy says:

    So delicious and also very elegant for a festive table!

  11. Excellent! I never would have thought of these!

  12. I take so much joy from looking at your beautiful photos, Mama. And I LOVE baked potatoes so I could easily inhale a dozen of these at a time. Happy holidays!

  13. Beautiful, not to mention brilliant! I never would have thought of potatoes as an appetizer.

  14. Brooks says:

    Sheryl, I suspect any genteel qualities I might harbor would fall to the wayside especially when it comes to those glorious bite-sized stuffed bakers. I’d have never thought of this and how it must be a crowd pleaser. Thank you for sharing this first rate recipe!

  15. Love these!! Will need to make them for our next party! 🙂
    Kenley

  16. Tasmeea says:

    These look so cute! Can’t wait to try making them 🙂

  17. Claire D says:

    This is a very clever idea for an appetizer. And your photos are gorgeous!

  18. DVees says:

    These look amazing! I think I’m gonna make them tonight. Can’t wait to try them. 🙂

  19. Great minds think alike; I had made mini-stuffed potatoes, but not with this filling.Yours sounds great!

  20. Kim McGuire says:

    So beautiful but I don’t think I have the patience to hollow out the potatoes!

  21. Jayne says:

    These are so cute! They look delicious too, what a good idea!

  22. amintiridinbucatarie says:

    I also like the presentation of the dish, not just the recipe, I have a lot to learn from people like you 🙂
    Regards, Oana


Leave a comment