Panko Crusted Shrimp with Chive Aioli

Panko Crusted Shrimp

Panko Crusted Shrimp

I suppose the thing I’m learning about life is that it’s always changing, and that things can’t always stay the same. When I became a mother I was very comfortable in that role, and I believed that my job as nurturer, caretaker, maid, cook and pain-in-the-ass, would go on forever. However, it seems that both of my sons are ready to cut the proverbial apron strings. I don’t think I’m ready to let go yet. My mind is overwhelmed with thoughts of how will they navigate the world without me telling them what to do. Will they remember to brush their teeth?

What has brought on all this unwanted anxiety, was the trip I made today with my youngest son to look at a school and an apartment in a beautiful college town about an hour from our house. I was so excited for him, and the adventure that was ahead of him.  If I’ve done my job well, he will be able to venture out into the world and do just fine. I know I’m not the first middle-aged broad to go through this, I just didn’t realize it would happen this quickly. But it did.

So what, you may ask, does all this have to do with shrimp?  Nothing much really. As it is now, the boys are rarely home to eat dinner, and usually never at the same time. But yesterday, they were both home for family dinner and they asked if I would make fried shrimp. Well, that’s my job, and I aim to please. So, here’s the panko crusted shrimp dish I made for them. I highly suggest you make the chive aioli. It’s cool and creamy, and a little lemon-y, and a really nice contrast to the crunchiness of the shrimp.

Panko Crusted Shrimp

Panko Crusted Shrimp with Chive Aioli

From Cooking Light

  • 1 1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs, divided
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
  • 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons cornstrach
  • 2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 pounds large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • canola oil for frying
  • 1/2 cup 2% Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup canola mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Directions
  1. Combine 1/2 cup panko crumbs, parsley and red pepper flakes in a mini processor; pulse to combine. Combine this mixture with the remaining panko crumbs in a shallow dish. Place the cornstarch in a shallow dish and the egg whites in a another separate shallow dish. Sprinkle the shrimp liberally with salt and pepper. Dredge the shrimp in the cornstarch, shaking off the excess; then dip into egg whites. Then dredge the shrimp in the panko mixture and press to adhere.
  2. In a large non-stick skillet, heat enough oil over medium heat. Add the shrimp, but do not crowd them and cook about three minutes per side insuring that they cook through. When the oil starts to get dark, I cleaned out the pan and heated fresh oil.
Chive Aioli
  • Whisk together the yogurt, mayonnaise, chives, lemon juice and red pepper flakes in a small bowl. Serve with shrimp.

Fried Shrimp

Note: I suggest buying large shrimp instead of extra large; as the extra large tend to be tougher and have a little less flavor.

Panko Crusted Shrimp

Recipe: Intermediate


55 Comments on “Panko Crusted Shrimp with Chive Aioli”

  1. busymomblogs says:

    Not only does this shrimp look delicious, but I loved the story about your boys! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Beth says:

    Oh my what shrimpy goodness!!!!!!! I am making this, Scott loves shrimp – I will have to double the recipe.

  3. […] Panko Crusted Shrimp with Chive Aioli (mamasgottabake.wordpress.com) […]

  4. You doubled with a fantastic post and dish my friend – as usual 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. chowgals says:

    Wow! Not only do these look delicious but they are gorgeous!! I love that you showed some different presentations! I’m a sucker for that!!

  6. This really caught my eye. I love it. GREG PS College life prepares us for real life. All will be swell.

  7. Your photos are always so spectacular! And the shrimp look mouthwatering. I hope seeing your youngest son leave the nest hasn’t left you sad!

    • It’s funny Jennifer, my parents were sad when I left for college, and then I came back home and stayed another four years. Then I think they were really sad! I always appreciate your comments!

      • As with any loved ones, absence always makes the heart grow fonder, right? When I came back from London I moved in with my parents for a few months (my dad knows the exact number of days), and two days after I moved out they remodeled that room right out of existence! I think it was a hint… 😉

  8. Nice presentation. Definitely need to try.

  9. Oh, I hear you about the whole college transition. I have so many emotions just like you. I have thoroughly enjoyed my “stay at home” mom years. I know my daughter is capable and I am working hard on the process of letting go. I am thrilled, however, that she chose a college only 3 hours away instead of a flight away!! My son, is 15 and has to be reminded to do just about EVERYTHING. I can’t even begin to imagine him functioning in college. I’ve heard its a boy thing. I wonder if I will have to call and remind him to “put on antiperspirant”!!

  10. Gorgeous photos, and man do those shrimp look good! Wish I could grab one out of the screen and take a bite.

  11. patti says:

    Have you ever tried to baking them instead of frying?

  12. Amrita says:

    I love the way you’ve presented the shrimp. Super elegant.

    I cannot say that I know exactly how you feel, but I know this for sure, my mother felt exactly so when she and my dad accompanied me to check out colleges.

  13. Food Stories says:

    Major congrats on your foodbuzz top 9, today!

  14. Such a cute presentation. Love it!

  15. wow! what an art! I love the style! and i love shrimp so much!

  16. Marci Grogin says:

    Love seeing you on foodbuzz!!!

  17. Lisa says:

    The shrimp look fantastic and i will try them this week. Thanks so much for the story, i too have a son leaving in 2 weeks. It sounded so familiar!

  18. Oh, these look fantastic and I love the skewers! Our youngest (son) will be leaving our nest too. I’m happy and excited for him, but so not prepared for these changes. We will survive 🙂 !!

  19. cobo0521 says:

    Goodness… this looks heavenly!

  20. […] Happy Hour Bite: Panko crusted shrimp with chive aioli  I don’t know which I love more- the food or the […]

  21. YUM! These look beautiful! I’ll definitely be giving these a try sometime soon.

    ps – I am so impressed with the bounty that you baked for the bake sale! Everything looked delicious 🙂

  22. Shari Cohen-Kairey says:

    Thanks Sheryl:
    Now I am starving. I have a proposition for you. Next time you are missing your sons, make the shrimp for me. Yummy! Looks amazing!

  23. Food Frenzy says:

    Congratulations! This post was one of the top 5 viewed posts on Food Frenzy for April 2012.

  24. These babies are gorgeous! I’m sure I could eat a 100 of these in a sitting without even blinking. And that chive aioli sounds divine!

  25. Karen says:

    Fantastic photos of delicious looking and sounding shrimp. So happy that I stopped by.

  26. Courtney says:

    This looks so yummy! I just made my first aioli recently and am hooked. Can’t wait to try this one. I’m pinning!

  27. […] Panko Crusted Shrimp with Chive Aioli from Mama’s Gotta Bake […]

  28. Yum! This recipe sounds delicious and it’s even better with a great story and spectacular photos. Thanks for sharing!

  29. This looks and sounds delicious!

  30. Love the introductory story, and the shrimp looks must-try delicious! Following as of now!

  31. Brilliant taste explosion shrimp! Your presentation and photography are exquisite!
    Thank you again for stopping by my little spot in the blogosphere.
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

  32. […] Panko Crusted Shrimp with Chive Aioli (mamasgottabake.wordpress.com) […]

  33. cindyknoke says:

    Lucky sons! I bet they’re going to back home for dinner a lot!

  34. sarahlouisek says:

    Like you, I love to bake. For 2013, I made a resolution to finally learn how to cook too. Maybe I can start with your shrimp recipe.

  35. bakeaffairs says:

    Ohhh YES! This looks so delicious and mouth watering, perfect done!

  36. Wow! I know this post if from some time back (but that’s) what I love about re discovering food blogs. These shrimp look incredible and that perfect little bamboo twist through the centre is the ultimate touch. I love Panko and shrimp with that lovely little mayo is a winner. Definitely!

  37. Tina Evans says:

    I’m making this for our next party! Thanks.

  38. sunny says:

    I have made this twice and its been a huge hit. I love the chive ailoli on top of everything. It tastes like a better, milder tartar sauce.
    LOVE LOVE LOVE


Leave a comment