Monsieur Marcel – Ooh La La in La La Land

I hope to get to Paris some day because I like many things about the French. Their “joie de vivre”, their art, music, clothing and especially their food. I often picture myself strolling up and down Parisian boulevards dining in one French bistro after another. Oh, and not getting fat. That would be very un-French. Since I was not getting out of the country today, I settled for getting out of the San Fernando Valley. I went with my friend Gail to The Original Farmers Market at Third & Fairfax, a Los Angeles institution since 1934. That’s where we stumbled upon Monsieur Marcel.

Monsieur Marcel is both a bistro and a marketplace, and very, very French. Before we could shop, we had to eat. There’s no indoor dining, it’s all outside. But as luck would have it, it was an eighty-degree February day…perfect for eating al fresco. To start with, what would be more French than French Onion Soup ($7.50). This one is perfectly done, with a rich, flavorful broth, tons of caramelized onions, and a gooey layer of Gruyère cheese. I’m not just saying it, but this is my new favorite onion soup. It was perfect.

sautéed leeks & artichoke hearts with St. Loup goat cheese

Quiche was very popular back in the eighties (for those of us who remember the eighties). It was served a lot at wedding showers and women’s luncheons. So, when I saw Quiche on the menu I was feeling a little nostalgic and thought I would give it a try.  This Quiche of sautéed leeks and artichoke hearts ($10.99) was the definition of French comfort food. It’s rich and decadent with chunky vegetables and goat cheese atop a lovely, crispy crust. This dish is definitely for splitting.

Endive salad with apples, walnuts & Roquefort cheese with a walnut vinaigrette

To counter-balance the richness of the previous two dishes, we ordered their endive salad ($13.99) with apples, walnuts and Roquefort cheese with a walnut vinaigrette.  The ingredients in the salad were crisp and fresh and the resulting salad was very flavorful. Three different dishes, with three different cheeses.

And speaking of cheese…After a most enjoyable lunch, it was time to wander into the marketplace. If you’re a lover of artisanal ingredients like I am, this place will give you goosebumps. They offer an extensive selection of high end wines, cheeses, charcuterie, chocolate and any other delicacy your heart could imagine.

Monsieur Marcel, Los Angeles Farmers Market, Third & Fairfax, Los Angeles, CA 90036  (323) 939-7792


15 Comments on “Monsieur Marcel – Ooh La La in La La Land”

  1. Jennifer says:

    We’ve been there a few times for cheese, champagne and specialties. Great selection of cheeses! I could wander the aisles for hours. Lovely pics.

  2. Clo says:

    Thanks for the tip and for the enticing pics. The onion soup looks perfect!

  3. m&m says:

    Yum! That pile of cheese is making my mouth water!

  4. Lori Hemmis says:

    That Onion Soup looks yummy. Now I know where you are taking me for Onion Soup, France? LOL:)

  5. thelegaltart says:

    All that cheese and wine makes me drool….

  6. What a delicious looking onion soup! I wish I had a bowlful right now 🙂

  7. Soni says:

    Ooh your pics are absolutely mouthwatering!Looks like a really nice place for French Food!

  8. Yumm! Look at all this scrumptious food!

  9. The onion soup looks awesome, looks hearty and delicious!

  10. pieman says:

    I am a third quarter cullenary student this blog is great and i will be fallowing regularly could you tell me more about your baking school? i am going for bachelors and baking diploma
    we made french onion soup in first quarter it was good then and we can make it even better
    salt salt salt butter butter salt pepper salt peper BACON! stock stock salt XD =cullenary student

  11. Linda cain says:

    What are the recipe directions? I couldn’t bring them up.

  12. Ooh La La – just the right words!

  13. thefolia says:

    I think I may have had a brandy ice here. It has been away so it could be another amazing outdoor French establishment. I used to always get brandy ice as a child!–one of my favorite desserts.


Leave a comment