Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Banana Bread

Ya know, I don’t want to say I’m obsessed with cake, but I do spend a lot of time thinking about it. Much more than the average person I suppose. I think about important things too; world peace, the economy, and conservation. But, at the end of  the day when my psyche needs a little relaxation…I think about cake.

The cake I decided to bake today contains all the ingredients that I hold near and dear to me; melted chocolate, bananas, toasted nuts and chocolate chips. And, just to kick things up a notch, I included the addition of Vietnamese cinnamon. So, this way, I can savor all my favorites in one tasty bite. This cake is easy to make and has a nice layering of flavors. Even if you don’t think about cake very much, you might still want to give this one a try. It’s real good!

Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Banana Bread

Adapted from Tyler’s Ultimate

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vietnamese cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup lightly toasted walnuts 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter or spray a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan.
  2. Stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter until lightened, then beat in the chocolate, eggs, bananas and vanilla. Stir in the dry ingredients until incorporated. Do not over mix. Gently stir in the chips and walnuts.
  4. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out almost clean, 50-60 minutes.
  5. Transfer the pan to a rack to cool for at least 15 minutes before unmolding.

Makes 1 loaf

Recipe: Easy


11 Comments on “Chocolate Banana Bread”

  1. Erika says:

    sounds fantastic!

  2. Looks amazing. I’ve never done it like this. I’ve always done banana loaf and added chunks of chocolate – perhaps I’ll give this a go as a variation. Lovely idea.

  3. Tamara says:

    Banana and chocolate…great combination of flavors…if you say it’s easy, I’ll give it a try. It looks great…

  4. Jane says:

    Sounds amazing Sheryl, can’t wait to try this one!!

  5. This is a tempting recipe. Love all those chunks of goodness as well as the flavor combo! Wish I had a slice, no doubt it is moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Yinzerella says:

    I covet those little blue loaf pans!

  7. Chocolate banana bread? Lord Have mercy…this looks so good!

  8. Anna says:

    Banana and choco is already heavenly! I am intrigued with Vietnamese cinnamon…How does it differ with just regular cinnamon? I wanna try this cake very soon!

  9. karyl33 says:

    this looks so good. and the pictures are so pretty! thanks for following my blog! 🙂

  10. Carolyn Chan says:

    That looks delicious!!!!!!


Leave a comment