Chicken Sliders with Herbed Mayo

Chicken Slider with Herbed Mayo

Chicken Slider with Herbed Mayo

When one is planning a Super Bowl get-together, one must give serious consideration to the refreshments. Because really, what is a Super Bowl party without the proper accouterments.  Like the Super Bowl itself, watching the game at home should be an “event”. I would be negligent in my duties if I only served chips and dip, and my husband and sons have come to expect more from me as the years go by. Chips and dip are still on the menu, because every sports-loving guy still loves and expects them, but I needed to serve something more substantial but still in the realm of down home comfort food.

Chicken Sliders seemed like the obvious choice, because you can hold them in one hand while your screaming at the tv and holding a beer in the other. I would call this kind of breaded and fried chicken, Chicken Schnitzel or Chicken Milanese. Basically it’s boneless, skinless chicken breast that’s dredged in flour, eggs and panko bread crumbs and then fried. The end result is chicken that’s crispy and crunchy on the outside, and moist and tender on the inside.  And, for a little extra added tastiness, I plopped on a dollop of this homemade Herbed Mayo. Yay, score one for Mama!

Pound the chicken breast to tenderize it

Pound the chicken breast to tenderize it

Chicken Slider with Herbed Mayo

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast (cut into approx. 2″ x 4″ pieces)
  • 1 1/2 cups panko crumbs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • vegetable or canola oil for frying
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 8 mini slider rolls ( I used King’s Hawaiian Rolls & Rockenwagner’s Mini Pretzel Rolls)
  • red onion, thinly sliced
  • Roma tomato, thinly sliced
  • arugula

Herbed Mayo

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon finely minced parsley
  • 1 teaspoon finely minced chives
  • 1 teaspoon finely minced chervil (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard (dijon or brown)
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Rinse chicken under cool water and pat dry. Pounding the chicken breast will enable it to cook through consistently if all slices are of same thickness. Cut the chicken into 2″ x 4″ pieces (approximately). Lightly season the chicken on both sides with salt and pepper.
  2. Now make yourself a “dredging station”. Take three shallow bowls, and put the panko crumbs in one, the flour, seasoned with salt and pepper, in another, and beat the two eggs with a tablespoon of milk and place in the third bowl. Using tongs (or a fork) dip the chicken into the flour and gently shake off the excess. Next, dip it into the egg mixture on both sides. Last, dip the chicken into the panko crumbs, pressing the crumbs to adhere to the chicken breast. Lay the finished coated pieces on a wax paper covered baking sheet.
  3. In a large skillet, set over medium heat, pour the vegetable oil about 1/4″ deep. Don’t put the chicken in until the oil is hot enough, but also don’t let the oil get too hot. If the oil is too hot, the outside coating will burn, and the chicken inside will not cook through. Also, do not crowd the pan, make sure there is room in between the chicken pieces. When the chicken is golden brown, remove from the pan and let drain on a paper towel.
  4. To make the Herbed Mayo: place all the ingredients in a small bowl, and whisk together until smooth. Adjust the salt and pepper to your own taste. Cover bowl and keep it in the fridge until ready to use.
  5. Just assemble the sandwiches, spread with the Herbed Mayo and enjoy.

Makes 8 Slider Sandwiches

Fry the breaded chicken in about 1/4" of oil on medium heat

Fry the breaded chicken in about 1/4″ of oil on medium heat

Fry chicken until it's golden brown and crispy

Fry chicken until it’s golden brown and crispy

Mama’s Tips:

When working with chicken you always have to be concerned about contamination. When I pound my chicken, I cover the bottom surface with plastic wrap, place the chicken on top, then cover the chicken with another sheet of plastic wrap. I never want to get the bacteria on my surfaces or on the rolling pin I’m using to pound the chicken. Always wash your hands after handling chicken and touching something else.

Make sure the chicken is always cooked through (no pink inside) to avoid salmonella poisoning. If your not sure, take a small pairing knife and cut into a piece of chicken just to check the inside.

When frying chicken, try to keep the oil at an even temperature. If it gets too hot and starts to burn, or there’s a lot of burnt pieces of bread crumbs in it, clean the pan and start with new oil. Burned, dirty oil will affect the final taste of the chicken.

If you can’t get panko bread crumbs (usually found in the Asian section of the market) you can use regular bread crumbs. but I find the panko crumbs give the chicken a much crunchier, crispier texture. It’s well worth seeking these crumbs out.

The reason I pound the chicken is that the breasts are naturally thicker in some parts and thinner in others. By pounding it, the breasts are the same thickness at all points and therefore will cook through consistently.

Chicken Sliders with Herbed Mayo

Chicken Sliders with Herbed Mayo

Chicken Sliders with Herbed Mayo

Chicken Sliders with Herbed Mayo

Recipe: Intermediate

42 Comments on “Chicken Sliders with Herbed Mayo”

  1. Harvest + Honey says:

    Looks delish :)

  2. Wow I don’t think you ever take a bad photo. These look lip-smacking good. Plus I really like your tips about chicken. Once again thanks for a great recipe and eye candy.

  3. Cortado Chronicles says:

    Oh my goodness – these look AMAZING. I bet you, invite me to your next get-together, please!

  4. Tamara says:

    wow, these look delicious. I love the idea of the herbed mayo…I definitely will try that. As always your photos are fantastick..I really look forward to getting your posts to see what “mama” is up to….

  5. Those are lucky menfolk who get to enjoy all your delicious goodies! I assume there’ll be some lovely baked goods on Sunday too…?

  6. What a great idea for a party! These look delicious!

  7. cloverleaf says:

    Looks great, Sheryl! Where did you find the pretzel buns?

  8. NickkiT says:

    These look amazing! They are so going on my list of recipes to try. Thanks for sharing!

  9. wooooow look delish, great

  10. The Baker says:

    They look great. What kind of buns do you recommend?

  11. This is definitely a great SuperBowl food – crispy chicken, a flavorful sauce and fantastic buns (the first “sliders” are just adorable with the sesame seeds!). The chicken definitely reminds me of the Chicken Schnitzel my good friend taught me to make (for shared shabbos dinner) during our college days. We always squeezed lemon over the chicken – so maybe I shall add some zest to your lovely sauce for old-times sake. :-) Delicious recipes and fantastic photos, Sheryl.

  12. Yum! I would like these at a Super Bowl party!

  13. Those sandwiches look so wonderful. Perfect game day food, or any day for that matter!

  14. Oh My Golly! this looks fabulous!

  15. Your husband and your sons are really lucky! your chicken sandwiches look so cute, are you sure that the super bowl game is not just an excuse to eat them?

    • Yes, for me it is the perfect excuse!!!

      • Carolyn Chan says:

        I can’t leave a comment for some reason so I’m going to be cheeky and add a reply to la petite casserole :)
        Your Superbowl is super posh ! :) Those sliders are GORGEOUS. I would have stopped after frying the chicken but your family is so lucky to have handful/bitefuls of your sliders.

  16. Amazing, Sheryl! I think I could have like a dozen of these in a row!
    (I love your tips ;) )
    Besos!

  17. Im drooling here! Amazing fotography! The chicken sliders looks just too tempting. LUCky people who got to eat this.

  18. Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about ….. Delicious!! I LOVE King’s Hawaiian rolls.. :-) Awesome post… beautiful photos!!

  19. Brooks says:

    Dang, Sheryl, you’re mixing up my game plan for game day—and I love it! It’s time to call a huddle.

  20. Mr Fitz says:

    They look tremendous indeed!! Thanks for making me smile.. (and feel rather peckish!)

  21. Loving both your crispy Panko crumbed chicken and those amazing brioche buns! Epic games=epic feasts! When the Tour de France is on in our home, it always accounts for French themed delicacies and snacks!

  22. I discovered panko breadcrumbs a couple of months ago – I’m telling you, I’m never going back. They are wonderful with chicken!

    Thanks for the herbed mayo recipe. I’ve been meaning to try it but haven’t bothered to search for a recipe. And here you’ve delivered one right to my inbox. :)

    May the best team win!

  23. Your chicken is fried beautifully!

  24. I made sliders for the Super Bowl too – your chicken recipe looks and sounds delicious. Like those pretzel rolls :)

  25. DVees says:

    Oh wow! Looks good. Can’t wait to try it :)

  26. naomimgruer says:

    I have to try these, especially when my teens come home from college.

  27. thefolia says:

    Way to set the bar high mom! Happy Nesting.

  28. Your chicken sliders look divine! And would work perfectly with the Olympics as well :)

  29. olgafanin says:

    And now I’m craving me some chicken sliders! Looks so delicious!

  30. Morwenna Jones says:

    Oh my gosh, I made these for my boyfriend and I think I’ve secured myself safely as best girlfriend EVER!

    http://morwennajones.wordpress.com

  31. This is going on my meal plan for next week!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,941 other followers