Grand Central Market & Egg Slut

Grand Central Market

Grand Central Market

Having lived in Los Angeles for 33 years, I’m only now beginning to discover the rich history and diverse culture that the city has to offer.  Downtown LA’s Grand Central Market puts you on sensory overload. The market, which has been in continuous operation since 1917, is 30,000 square feet of high energy sights, sounds, and smells (and I mean that in a good way) as well as a multi-cultural clientele. It’s got a little something for everybody. The marketplace offers fresh produce booths, gourmet coffee, juices and cheese, bakeries, as well as authentic style Mexican and Chinese restaurants, just to name a few.

Grand Central Market

Grand Central Market

DSC_0079

G & B Coffee at Grand Central Market

The marketplace has a large multi-story parking lot attached to it, so it made accessing the whole downtown experience convenient and enjoyable. The first hour of parking was free with validation, so your afternoon outing doesn’t have to break the bank.

DTLA Cheese at Grand Central Market

DTLA Cheese at Grand Central Market

Sticky Rice at Grand Central Market

Sticky Rice at Grand Central Market

Accompanying me on this adventure was my partner-in-culinary crime, Gail. By 1pm it was time to make the decision where to sit down and eat because that was certainly the focus of this foray. Looking over the list of restaurants in the market, we both looked at each other and simultaneously said “Egg Slut of course”! Why, because I am an egg slut. I love them fried, poached, deviled and scrambled, and I’m a firm believer everything is better with an egg on it. Little did we know how deliciously nasty Egg Slut would be!

Egg Slut at Grand Central Market

Egg Slut at Grand Central Market

I ordered the Avo Burger, a 1/3 pound hamburger patty on a house-made brioche bun that’s toasted to perfection. They add cheddar, fresh avocado, caramelized onions, and, wait for it, yes an organic fried egg. I tried to look lady-like as I ate this, I just hope no one was looking.  Gail had the Fairfax, which was soft-scrambled eggs with caramelized onions, cheddar, chives and Sriracha mayo on the homiest of biscuits.

DSC_0133

The Avo Burger at Egg Slut.

The Fairfax at Egg Slut

The Fairfax at Egg Slut

Chef Alvin Cailan of Egg Slut

Chef Alvin Cailan of Egg Slut

However, after lunch it seemed our downtown Los Angeles history lesson was still not over. Directly across the street from the Grand Central Market is the Angel’s Flight Railway. Built in 1901, it’s called “the world’s shortest railway at only 298 feet. Costing only 50 cents to ride, it connects Hill Street with Grand, and was an iconic ending to the perfect day.

Angel's Flight Railway

Angel’s Flight Railway

Grand Central Market – 317 S. Broadway, Los Angeles CA 90013 (213) 624-2378

50 Comments on “Grand Central Market & Egg Slut”

  1. Stunning photo’s. I just love markets.

  2. You’re an Egg Slut after my own heart! I eat eggs every day, sometimes twice. Your photos are stunning.

  3. Beth Somers says:

    I want to eat both of those sandwiches! Man, I am a sucker for a good biscuit. Lovely photos!

  4. cloverleaf says:

    What a great report and review, Sheryl! Your photos make me want to hop in my MINI and drive right down to DTLA! Gorgeous shots, as usual. :D

  5. Thank you so much for sharing these photos, it’s so interesting to see what it’s like where you are! And such a fab looking market 👍👍

  6. Joni says:

    Soooooo fun!

  7. Oh! I am drooling! What fun!

  8. lolarugula says:

    Ohhhhh! Your burger looks fabulously delicious! I, too, am an egg slut and proudly so. What a great name and concept for a market restaurant.

  9. thank you for sharing, I love going around market, one of preferred activity in the morning… and now you give one more reason to go to LA as soon as possible!

  10. I’ve loved eggs since I could reach the stove and started boiling them myself. So rich and delicious.

  11. KerryCan says:

    This looks like a great market! I love these places so much–the closest to me is Montreal, and there are two of them there! But no Egg Slut. :-(

  12. Confession: I AM ALSO AN EGG SLUT. That looks gorgeous!

  13. ohlidia says:

    I’ve been to LA twice and loved it! Wish I could do it again with you!

  14. Great photos and I love the market. Wish we had something like that in DFW. We don’t. :(

  15. I feel as if I took a little vacation this morning…..thank you!

  16. df says:

    What a great, bustling place, your photos brought it to life. So many egg sluts here, and I’m definitely one of them. Your lunch looked so good!

  17. davegon says:

    I need to get down there again. The last time was about 7 years ago. I love that there is a restaurant called Egg Slut!

  18. bakeritalia says:

    That market looks fantastic, I am very envious! I love, love the egg slut and want to visit the food looks and sounds delicious. What a fab day for you both! Thanks for sharing

  19. Will definitely have to check out Grand Central Market next time we’re in LA. The restaurants look delicious. Do they have prepared foods and grocery to-go, too?

  20. Absolutely beautiful and lovely pictorial. I feel the same when I actually take time to go and explore San Francisco, or even our little towns center of hustle-and bustle. Very heartwarming and delicious post. Fae.

    • Hi Fae, there’s so much to see in this big city of mine. San Francisco is equally as fascinating. I hope to be able to explore your city in some depth in the near future.

  21. Beautiful photos and excellent reviews. You certainly are living the life – the fun, foodie life, that is. The Avo burger looks to be the perfect size – the fried egg and lovely bun stole my heart, as well. Best to you! Shanna

  22. You discovered a jewel in your town.

  23. Brooks says:

    Oh Sheryl, I’m loving this photo-rich post…the food looks completely glorious and the landmarks, well, are leaving me a tad homesick. Thank you for reminding me of how wonderful it is to live and play in LA.

  24. I so envy those of you who live close to large food markets like this. And Egg Slut sounds fun. :) Probably nothing there for this celiac girl but I must be some kind of masochistic because I still can’t stop looking at pics of gluten filled foods. :)

  25. Ferne wagman says:

    Oh Sheryl, I just read your review of the grande central market and Eggslut. I got hungry reading your review. I no longer eat meat, but
    I would love that burger with an egg on top! Loved the review and blog I just read waiting for the review of the fancy food show! Ferne

  26. thefolia says:

    What an exciting day–I’ll have to try the mini railway for kicks one day!

  27. Feeding7Sisters.com says:

    Love your photos and this post!

  28. I’ve always wanted to check out that market and with your review of eggslut now I REALLY must go down there! Thanks!

  29. EggSlut what a name! That burger looks awesome :)

  30. naomimgruer says:

    Fun day and that Eggslut burger is something else!

  31. Look what I’ve been missing! Shenanigans with Eggslut, which btw looks amazing!! Happy New Year, Sheryl :) I hope to be back regularly. I always enjoy reading your posts. Cheers :) ~Sandra

  32. Love it, not only do you get a delicious day of food shopping & exploring. Then you get to enjoy egg Mecca at Egg Slut! How good did that avocado egg burger look!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,991 other followers