White Wine Kiwi-Apple Sangria

Kiwi Grape Sangria

Sangria

T’aint nothing better on a scorching summer’s day here in the San Fernando Valley than a couple of your closest girlfriends and a big pitcher of sangria. Because what else do women like to do but talk and drink lots of wine. We will, of course be discussing many pertinent political and social issues, but I felt we needed something cool and refreshing to aide in our verbal discourse.

As most of my buddies know, Mama isn’t much of a drinker. I will tell you this though, my favorite drink back in the day was called a Tom Collins. Those of you born after 1978 will have no idea what that is, but it was quite popular  back in the days of Donna Summer and disco.

Sangria however, is a fruit punch that has its roots in Spain and is served in those warm summer months as a cooling refreshment.  Traditionally it’s made with a red wine and lots of fruit and left to sit in the fridge to chill so that the wine and fruit can meld together to create that fruit-a-licious flavor. Personally, I prefer white wines and I decided to add green apple, kiwi, grapes and lime because those are my favorite fruits.  You can play around with it and create your own personal concoction. I also chose to add some fresh thyme to it just to develop another layer of flavor. Because Mama likes flavor!

Right before serving I like to add some fresh fruit to each glass (because it’s pretty!). I also freeze about a dozen grapes to add to each glass as they become ice cubes and make the drink super-cold.  Ahhhh…chit-chat and wine on a hot summer’s day!

Kiwi Grape Sangria

White Wine Kiwi-Apple Sangria

White Wine Kiwi-Apple Sangria

  • 1 bottle of white wine – Riesling, Gewürztraminer, Sauvignon Blanc are good choices
  • 3 tablespoons of Triple Sec
  • 1/2 cup fresh orange juice, strained several times to omit the pulp
  • 1/4 cup simple syrup*
  • 1 cup club soda
  • 1 green apple, quartered sliced thin with skin on
  • 1 lime, sliced thin
  • 1 cup green, seedless grapes, sliced in half (1 additional cup of green grapes frozen)
  • 2 kiwis, peeled and sliced thin
  • a couple sprigs of fresh thyme, and more for garnish

Directions

  1. First, make your simple syrup by combining 1/4 cup  water and 1/4 cup granulated sugar in a small saucepan. Constantly stir over medium-high heat until mixture comes to a boil, and all the sugar dissolves.  Lower the heat and stir mixture a few more seconds until it begins to thicken and become syrupy. Remove from heat and add the fresh thyme allowing it to steep in the syrup. When the syrup is cooled, remove the thyme and discard. While your preparing the sangria, place the syrup in the fridge to chill.
  2. In a large pitcher, pour the white wine, the Triple Sec, the orange juice and the chilled simple syrup and stir. Add the apple, the lime, the grapes and the kiwi to the pitcher and place in the fridge to chill for a couple of hours.
  3. Right before serving, add the club soda and stir. Garnish with a sprig of thyme if you like.
  4. I slice up extra fruit to add to each glass of sangria.
Fixin's for a Kiwi Grape Sangria

Fixin’s for a White Wine Kiwi-Apple Sangria

Mama’s Tips:

Making simple syrup is as easy as 1, 2, 3.  It’s basically 1 part water to 1 part sugar. Bring the water to a boil in a small saucepan and then add the sugar stirring constantly until all the sugar is dissolved. Let the mixture cool in the pan until it thickens and becomes syrupy. You can also infuse the syrup with herbs, spices and fruit. You can make the syrup in larger batches to use in other cocktails too. Just store the syrup in a sealed container and it should last several months.

Along with adding lots of ice to this sangria, I included the addition of frozen grapes to chill the beverage also.

Kiwi Grape Sangria

White Wine Kiwi-Apple Sangria

Recipe: Easy

44 Comments on “White Wine Kiwi-Apple Sangria”

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    YUuUUum!

  2. wanda clofine says:

    Looks very refreshing! I’m going to make this….

  3. BeingZhenya says:

    Oh Yum! Gotta try some of those recipes!
    Xo,
    Z
    http://beingzhenya.com

  4. ritavegas says:

    OMG!! This looks so amazing and refreshing!Gotta try this!It makes me wanna go for vacation!

  5. Jeff Parker says:

    Looks super refreshing! Another for the “gotta try”!! Cheers

  6. Ohhh, this looks refreshing! I love that you added frozen grapes to help keep your drink cold!

  7. Tamara says:

    this looks cool and delicious…definitely a “gotta try”

  8. I’m going to have to make this immediately. Love sangria and this is amazing!

  9. Nessa says:

    Gorgeous drink!

  10. What an exquisitely beautiful drink. I think I could go for one of those right now.

    The frozen grapes are a smart idea.

  11. Yum looks like a very refreshing beverage!

  12. Can’t wait to make this! Looks amazing!!

  13. Christina says:

    Looks gorgeous! Good thing I didn’t know where you were meeting up or I would have crashed the party! :)

  14. Clover says:

    Beautiful white wine sangria — great idea! I want to drink that whole, pretty pitcherful! ;)

  15. This looks so delicious and refreshing! Perfect for a hot summer evening!
    Kenley

  16. It looks like a lovely, refreshing version of sangria. :)

  17. gloriadelia says:

    Beautiful pictures! Love the added sprig of thyme.

  18. Ooh, wow! My kind of drink!

  19. I love your blog, so for this I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award, to accept and read the rules click here, http://leslieannvarela.com/2013/07/16/super-sweet-blogging-award/. Happy blogging!

  20. priya7011 says:

    OMG…beautiful!!!

  21. themondaybox says:

    A Tom Collins was my college drink of choice! :) I felt so sophisticated (waaaay back then) ordering a drink with a name even if it was only lemonade with alcohol. Your sangria looks so icy cold and refreshing. I don’t know why I never thought of freezing grapes before. Great idea. Thanks!

  22. I might keep the pulp in the orange juice, because I like it. This looks so refreshing, though, and such a beautiful colour

  23. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love the look of that drink ! It looks like one that you can spend an entire day getting slowly sozzled on :)

  24. ohlidia says:

    I LOVE Sangria and this one looks soooo refreshing!

  25. Georgina says:

    This looks fabulous – a perfect drink for the summer weather! And the photographs are really lovely too.

  26. thefolia says:

    I prefer white wine when it comes to Sangria too. This one is so unique that I will try it immediately! Thanks for the frozen grape tip and what a surprise…thyme–one of my favorite herbs. Happy Nesting.

  27. Gorgeous! Disgustingly gorgeous…

  28. meganchapple says:

    Sounds delicious, especially for the hot weather we’re having in the UK at the mo. I made lime’n’lemonade yesterday. Very refreshing

  29. Nancy Tanner says:

    this sounds super incredible… I think I will try this while we are still in the 90′s!

  30. Gah! I need a pitcher of this sangria stat! Sangria is one of my favourite drinks and I love your fruit combination here. This looks super refreshing (as I’m sitting in my boiling apartment, sweat rolling down my face).

  31. perfect for the summer sun!

  32. Green is good. By the looks of this, these green gems are very, very good! Love the styling as always. Truly delicious!

  33. I really like your food styling for this post. The colours look great. I think I’m gonna make this one this weekend. Keep up the great work :)

  34. Louise says:

    This looks so delicious and refreshing! I’ve just got to wait patiently for summer to arrive now…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,929 other followers