Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Cinnamon-Chocolate Coffee Cake

Cinnamon-Chocolate Coffee Cake

It’s 12 o’clock at night, and here I stand in the dark over the kitchen sink eating hunks of this Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake. Suddenly the lights flick on, and my son Michael looks at me in surprise or horror, I’m not sure which one and asks “Mom, what in the world are you doing?” Oh, the shame I felt. Yes, caught in the act of scarfing down light and airy cake laced with nuts, chocolate and cinnamon. Since having this cake at my sister-in-law’s house I’ve been obsessed with it, so much so that my family has considered planning an intervention. Okay, I’ll try and get a hold of myself.

As you can see from the picture below, you need not restrict yourself to baking this in a 10-inch tube pan. If you’re feeling wild and crazy, you might want to try baking this cake in mini loaf pans or in mini bundt pans. The choice is up to you. Either way I think you’re gonna love this cake as much as I do. I just hope that if you do get up in the middle of the night to eat it over the kitchen sink, that no one catches you. It’s very embarrassing. Trust me.

Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

From My Sister-In-Law “Wanda”

  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Topping

  • 2/3 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Place the oven rack in the bottom third of the oven and preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 10-inch tube pan by melting some butter and using a pastry brush, lightly coat the entire pan and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. With the mixer on medium speed, add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each egg.  Add the vanilla extract. Alternately, add the flour mixture and the sour cream mixing on medium-low speed until ingredients are incorporated.
  4. Spoon 1/2 the mixture into the greased 10-inch tube pan. Sprinkle half the topping mixture over the batter being careful not to touch the edge of the batter. Next, spoon the remaining batter over and sprinkle the remaining topping over the cake.
  5. Place the pan in the center of the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes or until tester inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Be careful not to overbake. Cool cake in the pan for 15 minutes and then remove from pan to finish cooling on a rack.
Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Mama’s Tips:

  • Because most ovens have “hot spots”, I rotate my cakes half-way through baking so that the cake will bake evenly.
  • Be careful not to overmix your batter as it will result in a dense cake. Mix on medium-low speed and mix just until all ingredients are incorporated.
  • For cakes, butter and eggs should be room temperature. I usually take mine out about 2 hours before baking. However, if you cut your butter into small chunks it will warm up faster. To bring eggs to room temp quicker, place them in a bowl of warm water…that will do the trick.
  • For baking purposes, use the best pure vanilla extract you can afford. Avoid using anything with artificial flavors.
Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake

Recipe: Easy

51 Comments on “Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee Cake”

  1. Oh boy. This looks dee-lish.

    And if anyone caught me eating it at night, I would simply reply, “You’re too late.”

  2. Love coffee cake, and this is one beautiful cake. I can understand the fascination/obsession. Your photo’s are always amazing.

  3. That looks absolutely amazing!! Cannot wait to try it!

  4. Such a beautiful light crumb, so delicate! As for the cinnamon & choc chip topping it’s very kitchen sink worthy too. Looks v tasty and I just want to reach into all your photos :)

  5. Nessa says:

    Whenever someone catches me pigging out I say, “Like you never have a junk food fest?!” Stops ‘em every time :)

  6. tumbleweedcontessa says:

    This sounds just my style. The late night eating of something decadent and the cake. Great pictures. We’re having a party at Tumbleweed Contessa – Saturday Dishes featuring cakes and cupcakes. I’d love it if you linked this. http://www.tumbleweedcontessa.com/blog/cakes-and-cupcakes-saturday-dishes/

    Best wishes for tasty dishes,
    Linda

  7. this looks awesome and you’ve totally demysticized that delicious center of crumble cakes for me. Thanks!

  8. LFFL says:

    The name is just captivating! Looks like it tastes great.

  9. Ninaclock145 says:

    I don’t blame you a bit. I know this cake and still have almost the same exact recipe in my mother’s handwriting from probably the 1970′s. I was thinking of it not so long ago and as soon as I saw the picture, I knew what it was. Fantastic cake. Can’t stop eating it type of cake. I once made it for a friend’s wedding cake. I put a little powdered sugar on top and fresh flowers for decoration and it was a big hit.

  10. I suspect Michael was up and about to do the same thing.. just looking at that cake makes me want to scarf some down!! Lovely!! xx

  11. ohlidia says:

    I wouldn’t be able to sleep knowing there was such a scrumptious-looking cake in my kitchen! It would be calling out my name at night, beckoning me… No need to be embarassed at getting caught, we all do it!

  12. sweetlab says:

    Munching on goodies in the middle of the night and then getting caught…Hmm, this sounds way too familiar…Haha. But really, with this deliciously-looking cinnamon chocolate coffee cake, who could resist the temptation?

  13. Cassie Gay says:

    How do I print out just the recipes without pictures? This looks like a keeper! Cassie

  14. OMG!!! That looks insanely good!!! I LOVE any kind of coffee cake. Pinning this one as well. Outstanding!

  15. I would also stand over the sink eating this at midnight, or any time of day! *drool*

  16. WOW! That is one stunning cake! And I LOVE the flavour combination. I’d be sneaking this cake at all times of day, in all kinds of weird places. Do you remember those McCain deep ‘n delicious freezer cake commercials? They’d always show people sneaking to the freezer in the middle of the night. That was totally me. And that’s how I’d be with this cake!

  17. naomimgruer says:

    Another one I gotta try! Have I mentioned I might have “Dessert Disease?”

  18. How long did the loaf take? And how much of the recipe fit into the pan? I’d love to try that version

    • In my oven (not all ovens are the same) it took 25 minutes to bake. When you do it in your oven check with a toothpick after 15-20 minutes. When the toothpick comes out clean, then it’s done. However, be careful not to over bake or it ill be dry.

  19. Jeff Parker says:

    Oh my… Gotta try this soon!!!

    • Jeff Parker says:

      So I made this this past weekend… OMG AMAZING!!! I made it for my bf – a non-nut fan – but a huge fan of cinnamon. I tripled the cinnamon in the cake itself and in place of the mini chocolate chips and walnuts, I chopped up 8 ounces of bittersweet chocolate. I lost my tube pan somewhere in between moves, so I made it in a 9- x 13-inch pan. SUPER FANTASTICAL!! It is now in the baking line up :-) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      Cheers

      • Yay Jeff Parker! I love to hear when someone makes one of the recipes and that they enjoyed it! Thank you for taking the time to comment, and I’ll let Aunt Wanda know you enjoyed the cake.

  20. Jane Doe says:

    I am going to give this a try. The photos look great.

  21. Thank you for liking my post! I’m so glad I found your blog… Your pictures are amazing and I’m sure the recipes are as well! :) Can’t wait to try this coffee cake- sounds like a great twist to a classic recipe.

  22. Me encanta todo lo que haces :D , realmente bueno!!!!!!
    Las fotos son impresionantes y el cake buenisimo , un saludito !!

  23. Kristin says:

    Thank you for sharing this recipe, I made it this weekend for a house full and it was a big hit! Thank You!

  24. themondaybox says:

    Love that center stripe of cinnamon-chocolate goodness! I am going to try this as mini bundlette cakes. Portion control!

  25. sarahlouisek says:

    Mama, so good to see a new post from you! I love streusel and chocolate, so this coffeecake is right up my alley too.

  26. Dulce says:

    do you use unsalted butter or regular butter? :)

  27. Fidel Ernesto Hernández Avalos says:

    When i read: cinnamon, coffee and chocolate, i though: It needs some vanilla and salt, in order to be really tasty.
    You’re great! One can almost taste the sweetness melting in the tongue, by reading it. Thanks!

  28. wanda clofine says:

    Your pictures are amazing! This is a keeper.

  29. triplets says:

    I tried this recipe and loved it so much, I posted it on my blog. Here’s the link to my post and I linked back to you: http://bmoreenergy.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/cinnamon-chocolate-coffee-cake/. Did I miss when to add the vanilla in your recipe? I added it after mixing the margarine and eggs. Thanks!

  30. ritavegas says:

    This cake looks so airy and fluffy! Cinnamon,chocolate and coffee..What not to love in this cake? It looks so amazing!

  31. Ashlee Guth says:

    Oh my stars that looks amazing! I will be putting this one in the recipe book for sure, thank you so much for sharing!!
    -Ashlee

  32. mwalsh108 says:

    Reblogged this on Meaghan's Blog and commented:
    I could easily eat an entire loaf of this right now. Dead week is really getting to me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,908 other followers