Carrot Zucchini Cake

Carrot Zucchini Cake

Carrot Zucchini Cake

I bet you’ve been thinking all this time, all this lady ever seems to post about is chocolate. And that would be a pretty accurate assumption. I really do have some kind of a sick obsession with it, but every now and then I love to mix it up a bit and do something crazy like add vegetables to my baked goods. I know, it sounds nuts. Oh, and speaking of nuts, this Carrot Zucchini Cake is not only chock full of vegetables, but bursting with chopped nuts and raisins. I would almost go so far as too call this health food if it were not for the cream cheese frosting that is slathered all over the top of the cake.

Today I’m packing this cake and other necessary rations for a little picnic at a location I call my “happy place”. It’s where I like to go when I need to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. It’s a one hour hike into the Santa Monica mountains to an area they call The Rock Pool. Once there you become acutely aware of how quiet it is. No cell phones ringing, no traffic sounds, just the chirping of birds and the rustling of the wind through the trees, and sometimes the splashing of a few ducks that have taken up residence there.

DSCN2327

Right at the edge of this tranquil pool is a battered, old picnic table where my group and I will enjoy our lunch.  I figure I will have worked off at least 125 calories making this trek so I won’t feel guilty enjoying a generous portion of the cake. I’m glad I found my happy place. I would love to hear where your is. Let me know.

Carrot Zucchini Cake

Carrot Zucchini Cake

Carrot and Zucchini Cake

From Better Homes & Gardens

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups finely shredded carrots (3 medium)
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, tightly packed
  • 1/2 cup raisins (I mixed regular & golden together)
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 recipe Citrus-Cream Cheese Frosting

Directions

  1. This cake is made in a 13 x 9 pan, ungreased. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, you will sift together the flour, baking powder, ginger and baking soda. Set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, place the carrots, zucchini, brown sugar, eggs, raisins, walnuts, oil, honey and vanilla. Using a spatula, gently mix the ingredients together. Add the carrot mixture to the flour mixture and combine until all the ingredients are incorporated. Spread the batter into your baking pan.
  4. Bake for 24-26 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool the cake completely in the pan on a wire rack before you frost it.

Citrus Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. 1 – 8 ounce package of cream cheese, softened to room temperature
  2. 1 cup powdered sugar
  3. the zest of one orange

Place these ingredients in a medium sized bowl and beat with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

Carrot Zucchini Cake

Carrot Zucchini Cake

DSC_0037

Recipe: Easy

37 Comments on “Carrot Zucchini Cake”

  1. Oh yummy – that looks so wonderful. I love carrot cake.

  2. Netti says:

    That looks really great!! I never tried it with Zucchini, but I think it’s a great idea. Maybe next week, because now I will bake famous mousse au chocolat tartlets.
    Like :-)

  3. tumbleweedcontessa says:

    What a great photographer. Love all the shots. Oh, and the cake too. Thanks for sharing.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Linda

  4. Interesting take on two classic. I’m going to have to try this!

  5. Temah says:

    My mouth is watering.

  6. Wendy says:

    The citrus cream cheese frosting sounds wonderful and provides just the right tang to go beautifully with the sweetness of the carrot-zucchini cake. I am willing to call it health food. :)

  7. Oh my! Oh my! I am loving everything about this cake! Sounds so good :-)
    Kenley

  8. Great photos. Want to eat this NOW.

  9. ohlidia says:

    Oh! This looks heavenly! Yummy and moist… My happy place would be sitting by our lake in the country, enjoying a piece of this cake!

  10. Oh my goodness. I didn’t realize how much I’d been jonesing for carrot cake until I saw your post. Dear Lord, I think I licked the screen.

  11. kinecamara says:

    Yum! This looks scrumptious!

  12. Michelle says:

    I love a good picnic!

  13. Carrots & Zuchinni never looked so lush! I love the combination of both and I’m quite partial to both too. Cream cheese frosting and I are good old friends, beautiful combination of flavours and your pics are stunning (of course!) :)

  14. Clover says:

    What a tasty-looking “healthy” treat, Sheryl! ;) I love the pic of The Rock Pool….gorgeous reflection.

  15. This looks wonderful, Sheryl. I especially love that frosting! Will have to give this one a try. Thanks for the post! Have a lovely weekend. :)

  16. ladyredspecs says:

    Love the look and sound of this!

  17. Greg Vassalotti says:

    Very pretty place you went to. I liked the inclusion of this type of photo in your work.
    I also enjoy the story telling.

    • Thanks Greg, I always appreciate your comments. But I’m waiting to hear that you’ve tried one of the recipes! You know how to bake don’t cha!

      • Greg Vassalotti says:

        Please I am the son of an Italian mother. All I ever learned around the kitchen was how to eat.
        But I appreciate the talent that goes into all phases of cooking and baking.

  18. Beautiful happy place to enjoy a picnic. My happy place is near the ocean, but I plan on getting more hikes in when our weather is warmer. I would have run through that mounting knowing I had a delicious piece of cake waiting for me! Gorgeous, as always.

  19. Oh goodness, that place looks gorgeous and I have never went there or heard of it yet I live in Burbank. I know where our family will be going next! These carrot zucchini bars look like the perfect snack to take there. Yum!

  20. radhika25 says:

    That looks delicious! Absolutely delicious!

  21. Mmmm…! Citrus Cream Cheese Frosting – yum!

    The Rock Pool looks wonderful – so tranquil. My “happy place” is a short hike from our house, on a homemade bench that is perfect for reading. Heaven!

  22. Carolyn Chan says:

    What a beautiful place to go and get away from it all ! Can I have extra cream cheese frosting please ? :)

  23. wonderful combination, two yums (thumbs) up!

  24. Really delicious looking and unusual – nice!

  25. Brooks says:

    I’m loving the departure from classic carrot cake with the addition of zuchini. Even the cream cheese frosting deviates from the standard without a measure of butter. By all accounts my friend, with representation of the four food groups, I’d say this is a complete meal. The kitchen accessories are spot on, but no more so the photo of your happy place. My happy place? It’s a full kitchen at the seashore.

  26. christijolson says:

    This looks delicious! Do you think adding in flax seed and ground up chia seeds to make it rich in Omega 3′s would overly change the texture or flavor? I’ve been trying to find ways to work them slowly into my desserts and this looks like a fun recipe to try that with!

  27. Anna says:

    This cake is AMAZING!!! Where I live we can’t get the ingredients for the icing, but even without it it’s awesome! Love it so much! We made it, ate it, and made another one. I am enjoying trying different flavors of honey in it.

  28. […] Gotta Bake (Carrot Zucchini Cake). This lady is just my style — chocolate, moist cakes and breads, and lovely pictures. And, […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,936 other followers