Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

What it is about chocolate chips..just the mere mention of their name floods my brain with good memories and happy times. They’re so versatile these little morsels, and I love to ponder their endless possibilities. I marvel how their presence enhances cookies, ice cream, cakes, and muffins. It seems that whenever I bake these days, I try to figure out ways to add chocolate chips to it. Why, because I am a believer that when the road of life gets bumpy, chocolate chips will somehow smooth things out. Well, at least for me they do.

Anyway, when I was a kid my mother would go once a week to Greenberg’s Bakery on Haverford Avenue in the Philadelphia area. She would come home with a variety of freshly baked goods in pink boxes neatly tied with baker’s twine by the elderly Russian ladies that worked in the bakery. My favorite was the Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake that never lasted more than a day or two between my brothers and I.

So, today I pay homage to the humble chocolate chip and Greenberg’s Bakery with this version of the Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake.

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

From Entenmann’s

  • 3 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 8 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups (1-12 ounce bag) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. With a pastry brush and melted butter, grease the bottom and sides of two 9″ x 5″ loaf pans and line with parchment paper greasing the parchment paper also.
  2. Sift the flour and salt together in a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. With the mixer on low, stir in the vanilla extract.
  4. In a large bowl, lightly beat the 8 eggs and then add them to the butter-sugar mixture, mixing until they’re incorporated. With the mixer on low, mix in the flour until it is incorporated. With the mixer on low, add in the chocolate chips.
  5. Divide the batter evenly between the two pans.
  6. Bake for about 65 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with moist crumbs.
  7. Cool cakes in the pans on wire racks for 30 minutes before removing from the pans.

Makes two – 9″ x 5″ loaves

Recipe: Easy

this recipe yields two loaf cakes...


this recipe yields two loaf cakes…

Mama’s Tips:

I take my butter out of the refrigerator the night before to get it to room temperature.

Line your loaf pans with buttered parchment paper, allowing the paper to drape over the sides of the pans. When the cakes have cooled for 30 minutes, you’ll be able to easily lift the cakes out of the pan.

You can also use mini chocolate chips (12 ounce bag) for this recipe for a less chocolatey flavor.

...and uses lots of eggs!

…and uses lots of eggs!

50 Comments on “Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake”

  1. trangquynh says:

    gosh, this is the first time I visit your blog and I follow it immediately after seeing your chocolate chip loaf cake’s pictures, they’re absolutely beautiful, the cake looks so fluffy and soft, and I love chocolate chips in baked goods ^^

  2. This looks like a delicious recipe, I am a huge fan of chocolate, it is a necessary element in my life. That being said, I probably wouldn’t use chocolate chips myself. I have found that chocolate chips can change the flavour as they seem to have a coating that alters the natural deliciousness of the chocolate. Whenever I make something that calls for chocolate chips I substitute blocks of Bakers Chocolae (Semi-sweet) and I hammer it into little pieces. Although this can be painfully loud and somewhat jarring process, I find it makes all the difference.
    Thanks for the great recipe, I will have to try this, only with my version of chocolate chips… AKA Chocolate Chunk
    Diandra

  3. Melissa says:

    This recipe looks great! I **love** chocolate chips! =)

  4. I agree…anything with chocolate chips or chocolate period gets my attention! This looks delicious and such a beautiful loaf!

  5. Clover says:

    Haven’t had chocolate chip loaf in ages! Thanks for the beautiful reminder! :)

  6. These look wonderful. Love all the breads. We’re having a party at Tumbleweed Contessa and I’d love it if you could bring this over. http://www.tumbleweedcontessa.com/blog/brunch-saturday-dishes-2/

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Linda

  7. I love a recipe that yields two cakes – one for now, and one for the freezer.

    Or two for now.

  8. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love the easy recipe ! My loaves always seem to come out a bit on the heavy side – is that because i overwork the batter once the wet ingredients are added ?

  9. I absolutely love chocolate chip loaf cake so this is a thumbs up in my book! Actually come to think of it, I love all things with chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing Sheryl. :) Love your photos btw.

  10. ladyredspecs says:

    Gorgeous photos, yummy cake!

  11. I absolutely love your loaf recipes. I think half of my Recipe board on Pinterest has recipes from your blog.

  12. sarahlouisek says:

    Chocoholics, unite! Life goes better with chocolate.

  13. Beautiful! I’m helping a friend with a bake sale, and I think I can get close to 6-7 mini loafs using this recipe. That means 4 will make it to the bake sale ;)

  14. Mama, chocolate makes my world go round so I was nodding along enthusiastically as I was reading this post. Oooooh boy does your loaf look amazingly enticing. I wish I had a thick slab right now, full of melted, oozing chocolate chips.

  15. Michelle says:

    Our refrigerator is currently overflowing with eggs (the hens are laying like crazy), so this looks like a great use for some of them. Beautiful pics.

  16. I loved everything about this post.. the recipe, the story behind it.. I can just picture those little twine wrapped boxes. I think I love loaves because they have such a great crusting topping that isn’t damped by frosting or glaze. I love the chips in yours.. this looks excellent. Your food photography is outstanding! xx

  17. Gregory says:

    Paying homage to your roots, I like that !

    I also like the photos.

  18. carol says:

    Mama – Make this for me!!!!!

  19. Oh my! This looks wonderful! And I love finding recipes where I have all the ingredients on hand! :-)
    Kenley

  20. Wendy says:

    This is like one big moist chocolate chip muffin! The crusty brown outside with the fluffy crumb inside looks great. I am always looking for loaf recipes that are more moist so that they will remain fresh for 3 or 4 days. I’ll give this a try. Thanks!

  21. writermomangela says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Your recipes look amazing and your photos are gorgeous! I’m terrible about remembering to take a photo of things I bake/cook. I need to try and do better.

  22. Brooks says:

    Sheryl, such fun memories of Mom bringing home the carefully tied boxes from the bakery. for me, the mere mention of chocolate chips induces an endorphin rush of sorts. Bring on the bumpy road, I say. After noshing on a few slices of this lush cake, I’ll be ready for whatever life brings!

  23. naomimgruer says:

    This looks yummy and I’m going to try it pronto!

  24. Your cake looks so delicious and your photos are gorgeous!

  25. Ah, this looks so good. I love the photos. I have everything I need to make this loaf right now – I just started counting calories to drop some pounds, and you’re killing me. I still have a feeling I’m going to spend 1/2 an hour on your site anyway! :)

  26. This looks easy and sooooo good. Great breakfast idea!

  27. Cosmo says:

    what camera do you use for your pics? just amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

  28. Very nice! When I do any loves, I use parchment paper hanging over ,only I put it in the long way!

  29. Do you run marathons? Or just give all these goodies away? I’d be 300 lbs if I baked all these yummy treats like you do! :)

  30. Such beautiful photos and such exceptional examples of the great things which happen (when one) combines flour, butter, sugar & love.

  31. Lady Liz says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! You’re blog is amazing. This cake looks so good. Cannot wait to try ti!

  32. Elizabeth Burckley says:

    These are what I’ve been looking for for end of the year teachers gifts. Thanks for posting them!! I have 5×3 inch pans and am hoping to use those. Would that work? Should I make changes to the baking time and how many could I bake at once?

    • You absolutely have to make a change to the baking time as there is considerably less batter in the pans. Check the smaller cakes with a toothpick inserted in the center, and when the edges become golden then they’re done. Maybe bake one as a test and see how long it takes. All ovens are different so I can’t tell you how long exactly. I don’t know the size of your oven, but bake as many as you can fit more centered in the oven so they evenly bake.

  33. First of all, it was so nice to see you on the first page of google! I searched for chocolate chip loaf and you popped up! I was delighted to see someone from my wordpress community! :D
    This loaf looks divine! I honestly love the recipe more than all the others I’ve seen so far!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,952 other followers