Shallot and Thyme Dinner Rolls

Shallot & Thyme Dinner Rolls

Shallot & Thyme Dinner Rolls

You know, here at Mama’s Gotta Bake we’re not only about the sweet and sugary. Yes, I do dream about large chocolate cakes dripping in buttercream icing, but sometimes I like to cross over to the dark side and bake something using more savory ingredients.

I had a large bag of shallots and some fresh thyme left over from a meal I made a few days ago. I happen to love the combination of these two ingredients and remembered a dinner roll recipe I found in a very British cookbook I have. I’m obsessed with baking tins and pans of all sorts, so being the wild-and-crazy girl that I am, I decided instead of making these rolls in a standard muffin tin, that I would use the dariole molds I had just gotten a week before.  Dariole molds are also called baba molds or timbales. You can find them at most cooking stores or restaurant supply stores.

Anyway, I thought for sure the family would turn up their noses at these rolls, but surprisingly they finished every last one. Who knew!
Shallot & Thyme Dinner Rolls

Shallot & Thyme Dinner Rolls

Shallot & Thyme Dinner Rolls

From “The Perfect Afternoon Tea”

  • 8 ounces shallots, peeled
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, for cooking shallots
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, for cooking shallots
  • 2 teaspoons fresh thyme minced, plus additional sprigs for garnish
  • 2 cups self-rising flour
  • pinch salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons superfine sugar
  • 4 ounces soft herb and garlic cheese ( I used this)
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and place oven rack in the center position. Using a pastry brush and melted butter, grease 10 dariole molds (baba molds). I used these molds because I thought they would make an interesting looking roll, but you could however, just make them in a standard size muffin tin or even in mini muffin tins.
  2. Drop the shallots into a medium sized saucepan of boiling water and blanch for 2 minutes and then drain. When cooled, slice the shallots into quarters.
  3. In a large frying pan, heat the oil and butter over medium heat. Add the shallots and sauté until they are caramelized on all sides. Stir in the thyme and season with salt and pepper. Cool and set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder and sugar.
  5. In another bowl, with the mixer on medium-low, beat  together the soft cheese, milk, eggs and melted butter.  Pour into a well in the center of the dry ingredients and blend until incorporated. Do not over mix.
  6. Scrape the shallots and the liquid into the batter (reserving some to top each roll) and stir lightly.
  7. Divide the batter between the molds and fill 3/4 full. Place a shallot and some thyme sprigs on top.
  8. If using the dariole mold, bake for 25-30 minutes or until tops are firm to the touch and lightly browned. If using a mini muffin tin, adjust the time accordingly. These are best served warm. To re-warm them, I just popped them in the microwave for about 20 seconds and they were great.

Makes 10 tall muffins

Caramelize your shallots

Caramelize your shallots

Mama’s Tips: 

Like most batters, do not over mix the ingredients. Mix just until all the ingredients are incorporated.

Mama just loves the combination of shallots and thyme.

Mama just loves the combination of shallots and thyme.

Recipe: Easy

36 Comments on “Shallot and Thyme Dinner Rolls”

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Those look incredible. Shallots are one of my favorite flavors. Well done.

  2. Stunning pictures and I just want to bake these right now. No make that, eat them right now.

  3. So elegant! I love the use of the dariole moulds with the baked shallot & thyme. I agree, they’re a beautiful combination and so are your rolls.

  4. Wow, that looks incredible! Absolutely gorgeous and mouth watering!

  5. The dariole molds turned the rolls into such pretty shapes! They look absolutely delicious — I’d probably eat at least two, if you let me!

  6. Clover says:

    The dariole molds are new to me, so thanks for that. The pics are gorgeous!

  7. Jennifer S says:

    These look amazing! I’ll have to try this asap.

  8. Noa Levin says:

    These look positively delectable! Going to have to try them sometime. Just a question: are these dariole molds sort of like popover pans in size?

  9. saucygander says:

    What a great idea, and they look so pretty! Bookmarked to try!

  10. piesandeyes says:

    These are so elegant, lovely!

  11. Beautiful! Must try these!

  12. OK, I just wiped off my keyboard after drooling over these photos. My favourite husband is gonna love these.

  13. ohlidia says:

    Holy Toledo, these look amazingly delicious! I will definitely have to make these rolls!

  14. Mama Mouse says:

    those are the most beautfiul rolls i have ever seen!

  15. Michelle says:

    Those look absolutely wonderful! So, is the texture sort of like a popover?

  16. Who in their right minds would turn their nose at these?! I love the combo of shallots and thyme (delicious) and needless to say, your rolls turned out beautifully. I’m always in awe of your photography – SO beautiful! I wish I had a big house so that I could frame giant print outs of your photos and be tormented by pictures of tantalizing food every day!

    • Thanks so much for your comments. I appreciate all the positive feedback I get from you. I enjoy your blog so much as you’re so honest and express yourself from the heart!

  17. df says:

    Oh yum. That first photo is stunning!

  18. sarahlouisek says:

    Well, I don’t know anything about dariole molds, but the end result of your cooking sure looks delicious.

  19. Was looking for recipes to master bread (new years resolutions). This looks like a pretty incredible place to start ! Thanks for the idea.

  20. Beautiful! I need those molds. I love the height of the rolls.

  21. ocelot81 says:

    Looks delicious! :)

  22. Oh. My. God. I just want to crawl through the computer and eat these! Your family eats like kings. I hope they appreciate all your fine cooking! If not, I’ll give you my address. ;)

  23. Nancy Tanner says:

    OK, this might be my visually favorite thing you have posted. Those photos are gorgeous, and just he recipe I want to make this weekend… I love dinner rolls with herbs so we will give it a go! THanks!

  24. Carolyn Chan says:

    Goodness they look divine! Great use of ingredients you have handy. I love baking trays too I only wish there was a neat way of storing them all :)

  25. Brooks says:

    Sheryl, thank you for the introduction to the dariole mold. The silhouette it renders on the roll is eye-catching. But what really grabbed me was the shallots breaching from the tops springing forth from the sprigs of thyme. I can’t wait for the trip to the restaurant supply…I’m getting a batch of these in the popover pan pronto!

    • Brooks, you are so eloquent! I always appreciate your comments. I don’t know about you, but I love to spend hours in the restaurant supply store looking for new and unusual baking equipment! Go get yourself those dariole molds!

  26. jelliedwhale says:

    These look and sound divine!

    J


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,998 other followers