Mini Almond Bites

Mini Almond Bites

Mini Almond Bites

Recently I was asked if I would bring a dessert to a wedding shower. Of course I would, that’s what I do. That’s what I live to do. I’m always so thrilled when I’m given the task of providing dessert, as it gives me a real purpose in life. So, when I was trying to decide what I should make, I knew immediately that it would have to be a mini dessert. At any gathering of women I’ve ever been too, my observation has been if the desserts are not mini, women won’t touch them. Ultimately I notice, they may eat 2 or 3 mini desserts which equals one normal sized treat.  Oh come on ladies, don’t hate me for saying this, you know it’s true.

Well anyway, I ended up making these Mini Almond Bites. Not surprisingly, they went over very well. They’re a little bit chewy like a macaron, and filled with lots of crunch from the abundance of almonds.

Mini Almond Bites

Mini Almond Bites

Mini Almond Bites

From Brownies & Bars

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds
  • 1 recipe Almond Glaze

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F with the rack in the center of the oven. Line two 12-cup mini muffin tins with paper liners.
  2. In a saucepan, combine brown sugar and butter over medium heat and cook until melted and smooth; cool slightly. Then, with a rubber spatula, stir in the egg, and almond and vanilla extracts.
  3. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and baking soda. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, and with the rubber spatula, stir just until combined. Stir in 1/3 cup of the almonds. Reserve the rest for topping the cookies.
  4. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups, filling until half full. Sprinkle with the remaining almonds.
  5. Bake for 14-17 minutes or until tops are light brown. Cool in muffin tins on a wire rack for 5 minutes. When cooled you can drizzle the cookies with the Almond Glaze.

Almond Glaze

In a small bowl whisk together 1/2 cup of powdered sugar with 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract and about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of milk until you reach a good drizzling consistency.

Makes 24 mini bites

Mini Almond Bites

Mini Almond Bites

Recipe: Easy

Mini Almond Bites

Mini Almond Bites

15 Comments on “Mini Almond Bites”

  1. One–you are SO right about women and the mini treats! Especially in California. And TWO–I could SO eat more than three of those right now! Yum!

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Thos look awesome. with a bit of tweaking I think I could make those gluten-free. Well done!

  3. These look amazing! Thanks for sharing. I am going to make them when we get back from our long weekend.

  4. df says:

    Absolutely delicious looking! I’m not afraid to show my sweet tooth, but the bit-sized quanities are appealing anyway.

  5. Tamara says:

    These mini’s look soooo good. .I’m a big fan on small bites, so these really appeal to me.

  6. bakeaffairs says:

    Looks and sounds wonderful.

  7. Leah says:

    These look adorable and delicious! That almond glaze is calling my name. :)

  8. I love this idea – especially the almond glaze. With treats like this, you must get invited to a lot of showers!

  9. Hmm, I think you are on to my tactics! A few minis here and there, doesnt really equal a regular sized serving does it?! I would definitively taste a minimum of two of these beauties :)

  10. Your almondbites look delicious!

  11. Michelle says:

    Of course you would! And of course those shower attendees were awfully lucky.

  12. petit4chocolatier says:

    Wow, sinfully delicious!

  13. Oh my!! What a delicious looking treat!

  14. mreet3 says:

    These sound and look lovely!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,981 other followers