Chocolate Pecan Cookies

Chocolate Pecan Cookies

Chocolate Pecan Cookies

What can I say, baking cookies never gets old for me. Yes, I’m at it again, yet another cookie recipe. People ask me all the time, “Sheryl, don’t you ever get tired of doing this?” No, no I don’t. While others are out in the world doing productive things with their lives, I prefer to remain at home in the privacy of my own kitchen measuring out flour and butter, rolling dough into cute little balls and watching them sprout into delectable little cookies.

I know, girl get a life. I do like to stand in front of the oven with the light on watching my dough balls morph into crispy, crunchy edible treats. It’s a harmless obsession really. These Chocolate Pecan Cookies are a particular favorite of mine as I like nothing more in life than chocolate and nuts, best combo ever since Kim and Kanye, am I right? As if these cookies are not already perfect enough, the chocolate drizzle on top is the icing on the cake, or the cookie…you know what I mean.

DSC_0021

Chocolate Pecan Cookies

Chocolate Pecan Cookies

From Bon Appetit

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, melted & cooled
  • 1/3 cup (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons, plus 2 teaspoons light corn syrup
  • 2 tablespoons whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (I used half cup of each)
  • 1/2 cup bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.  Stir the melted butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, corn syrup, milk and vanilla in a medium bowl until you achieve a smooth consistency. Next, stir the flour mixture into the butter mixture. Then add the nuts, stirring to incorporate. Transfer the mixture to a covered container and chill for at least four hours. You can make the dough a day ahead of time, and just keep it chilled in the refrigerator.
  2. On baking day, preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line 3 large baking sheets with parchment. Measure 2 tablespoons of dough, roll it between your palms to form a ball. Place the ball on your prepared baking sheets. Using your fingers, spread out the dough into a 3-inch diameter disk. If it makes it easier for you; pre-draw 3-inch circles on your parchment paper. Using a 3-inch round cookie cutter, I placed my ball of dough in the center of the cutter and smushed it out inside the cutter to form a 3-inch disk. I fit 6 cookies on each baking pan.
  3. Bake cookies about 10 minutes until flat and beginning to darken around the edges. Transfer the cookies on the parchment to a cooling rack.
  4. To make my chocolate drizzle, I took about 4 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate (finely chopped) and about a teaspoon of Crisco and placed it in a bowl. I gently microwaved it at 15-second intervals, stirring after each interval until I got a drizzly consistency of chocolate. I placed my cookies on a cooling rack and then put paper towels underneath the cooling rack before I drizzled the cookies with the chocolate. Let the cookies stand for about 30 minutes until the chocolate sets.

Makes 16 – 3″ cookies.

Chocolate Pecan Cookies

Chocolate Pecan Cookies

Mama’s Tips: 

One of my most useful kitchen accouterments is a cookie cutter set like this.  For this particular recipe, I used the 3-inch cutter. I placed the cutter on the parchment covered cookie sheet, and then took my dough ball and pressed it into the cutter to achieve a uniform size for all my cookies. You always want your cookies to be the same size and thickness so that they will bake evenly for yummy results.

Recipe: Easy

34 Comments on “Chocolate Pecan Cookies”

  1. 3meals2snacks says:

    I was just having a cup of tea when this popped up. Unfortunately I was snacking on a somewhat tasty but overly refined and packaged fiber bar instead of these delectable treats. As Samuel Johnson once said, “If you are tired of cookies, you are tired of life.” At least that’s what I think he meant.

  2. Tamara says:

    do these look good or what????? I think this is a better combo than Kim and Kanye, so you are still the best matchmaker…

  3. NickkiT says:

    Wow, these cookies really do look so decadent and delicious! I can’t wait to try these out, thanks for sharing :-)

  4. These really look wonderful! Love pecans…especially with chocolate!
    Kenley

  5. houseofherby says:

    Oh they look decadent!

  6. chelle says:

    Standing in front of the oven door LOL “girl, get a life” hahaha..in my opinion it’s a good life to have!!

  7. Oh yes, those look naughty! I like :D

  8. Mama your cookies are perfection and I especially agree that chocolate & nuts, are the perfect combination, (celebrities included!) everything is so beautiful on this page, I just want to snaffle them all!

  9. Mmmm! I think you should put a “Smell” button on your blog.

  10. insanely decadent. i once tried to bake. most people i know who bake give it away. not me. I gained 10 lbs. :o these look sooooo good!!!!!!!!

  11. sweetcraving says:

    these look absolutely delicious! I just want to dive right into that photo.

  12. sarahlouisek says:

    An entertaining write-up! And I love the chocolate drizzle on the cookies, it makes them look like bakery cookies.

  13. meganchapple says:

    I want these…RIGHT NOW!

  14. jdzphotoblog says:

    Yum! The photos are awesome.

  15. Wow! I love these cookies! Great photos, great recipe! ♥

  16. YUM! These look FAB! Even better with my cup of tea x

  17. petit4chocolatier says:

    These are exquisite and perfect!!

  18. These are such stunning photos of beautiful, decadent, dark ‘n chocolatey cookies. I don’t have a life either – there’s nothing I’d rather be doing than staying in my kitchen, making something with my hands, letting my apartment fill with the sweet aromas of baking, and then enjoying what I’ve made with a cup of tea. Heaven!

  19. AmyS says:

    This look amazing. I’m not a baker by any means but they might be worth the effort.

  20. ocelot81 says:

    This looks so delicious, thanks for sharing :)

  21. Erinn @ www.more-sprinkles.com says:

    These cookies look unreal! Have to try them!

  22. spideystan says:

    I am an english cookie monster gran!!!! These look fantastic. Big charity event coming up which calls for many cookies. Will add these to the bake. Thanks

  23. Jennifer says:

    Lookie where Pinterest brought me today! These cookies look amazing!!

    I fear I may end up spending way too much time checking out the rest of your site this afternoon!

    Newly subscribed, happy Monday!

  24. holisticmel says:

    These look amazing!

  25. thefolia says:

    Just turned on my oven to make these and appease some aspiring filmmakers who have been honing their skills this morning.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,925 other followers