Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

Southern Californians are a funny lot. No matter how cold it gets, and for the past two weeks it has been very cold, Southern Californians will wear shorts and flip-flops no matter what.  I noticed this strange phenomenon yesterday as I was shopping at an outdoor mall. Me, bundled in a winter coat and scarf, and everyone else lollygagging about in their Tommy Bahama Hawaiian shirts and sundresses. I really admire their spirit, and for some folks it really is an endless summer. And why not.  Maybe it’s the thin, east-coast blood that runs through my veins, but I was headed home to have a big bowl of chili and these homemade corn muffins. I was embracing the brisk winter weather with some down-home comfort food.

Anyway, son #1 had given me the Bouchon Bakery cookbook for a gift and I was anxious to try out some of the recipes. What I like most about the book is that it’s recipes are written in both cups and grams. As a gal whose obsession is baking, naturally I prefer gram measurements. Why, because baking is a science and grams are a precise measurement. When you weigh your ingredients your chances of a successful end product are almost guaranteed. Even if you’re just an occasional baker, I highly recommend you get yourself a digital food scale. You know I would never steer you wrong.

Thomas Keller explains in the book that the reason for allowing your batter to sit overnight is for the purpose of hydrating the flour. When the mixture absorbs the liquid ingredients, the result is a very moist corn muffin.

Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

From Thomas Keller Bouchon Bakery

  • 1 1/4 cups + 3 tablespoons (201 grams) all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup (51 grams) cornmeal
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons (12 grams) baking powder
  • 1/2 cup + 3 tablespoons (135 grams) sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Kosher salt
  • 2/3 cup (168 grams) whole milk
  • 2 large eggs (90 grams) 
  • 1/4 cup + 2 1/2 tablespoons (90 grams) canola oil
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons (72 grams) frozen corn kernels

* If  you do not have a scale to weigh out the eggs, take your 2 large eggs and lightly beat them in a bowl and then remove about 1 teaspoon and that will be about 90 grams.

Directions

  1. Place the flour in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Sift in the cornmeal and baking powder. Add the sugar and salt and mix on the lowest setting for about 15 seconds to combine. Add the milk and eggs and mix on low speed for about 30 seconds, just until combined. With the mixer running, slowly pour in the oil, then increase the speed to medium-low and mix for about 30 seconds to combine.
  2. Remove the bowl from the mixer stand and scrape the bottom of the bowl to incorporate all the dry ingredients that may be stuck to the bottom.  Fold in the corn. For best results, transfer the batter to a covered container and refrigerate overnight.
  3. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 425 degrees F, and line a standard 12-cup muffin tin with liners. Lightly spray the liners with nonstick spray. Spoon the batter into the cups about 3/4 full.
  4. Place the pan in the oven, lower the oven temperature to 325 degrees F, and bake for 22-25 minutes, or until muffins are lightly golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. When done, place the pan on a cooling rack and cool muffins completely.

Makes 12 standard size muffins

Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

Corn Muffins

Recipe: Easy

47 Comments on “Corn Muffins”

  1. Yum! They look seriously good.

  2. Lesley says:

    Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog because then I was able to discover yours! What gorgeous muffins these are – I’m a huge Thomas Keller fan, so this was perfect timing. I can’t wait to try these!

    • Thanks Lesley for stopping by. You have a lovely blog! So many great recipes in this book, I can’t wait to try them all.

      • Lesley says:

        Thank you so much! I can’t blame you for loving this book – what a wonderful gift. My husband bought me Ad Hoc at Home as a present and it’s just full of beautiful photos and recipes. So much food to revel in! :)

  3. My god I can almost taste these. Lovely photos.

  4. Going to try this one next week!! I’m new to your blog,I think I will have fun!!

  5. Tamara says:

    Once again, the photos are beautiful. The muffins look so delicious and the recipe looks easy to follow. Definitel will try this one.

  6. zellie says:

    Oh those look good!

    I’m born and raised in Northern California and it has been CHILLY here but some people still prefer to wear shorts and tanktops to look cute. It won’t be cute when you’re running a fever later! lol

  7. Janet Rörschåch says:

    You are taking great pictures lady. Keep up the good work. don’t you just love Keller’s Bouchon?

  8. These look delicious! :-)
    Kenley

  9. Looks delicious and must be equally tasty as I’m sure the Bouchon Bakery cookbook has many moreish eats. I think that Sydney and California might be soul sisters in the weather stakes. It’s incredibly warm here at the moment so perhaps there are folk who are channeling all us folk (down under!) Happy Baking :)

  10. Hmm yummy !… one of my favorite pastry is muffin and and always hunt muffin whenever I am in the Mall. unfortunately I’ve never found any in corn mix. Love this blog, magnificent! thank you

  11. Anne says:

    These look divine Sheryl. Thomas Keller is brilliant so I bet these muffins are heaven. Happy New Year! :)

  12. Clover says:

    I love corn muffins and these are so beautifully presented! Question: when should the frozen corn kernels be added to the batter — before refrigerating or just before adding to the liners for baking?

  13. Elisabeth Scott says:

    Dear Mamma, I did not get to be 70 years old and a fantastic cook needing a scale to measure my ingredients. It’s bad enough that my husband just won’t understand that baking is a chemistry lesson and not to trifle with the ingredients like we might with a stew or soup! So – thank you very much, I shall continue baking without measuring by weight, and hope for the best, as always! Elisabeth Scott

    On Sat, Jan 5, 2013 at 12:45 PM, Mama’s Gotta Bake wrote:

    > ** > Mama’s Gotta Bake posted: “ Corn Muffins Southern > Californians are a funny lot. No matter how cold it gets, and for the past > two weeks it has been very cold, Southern Californians will wear shorts and > flip-f”

  14. NickkiT says:

    They look so good! Happy New Year :-)

  15. Hello, I have nominated you on “REALITY BLOGGER AWARD”, see at http://pleisbilongtumi.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/reality-bloger-award. Congrats :-)

  16. Chris Huck says:

    I’m missing when to add the FROZEN corn kernels

  17. erika says:

    Totally delectable looking muffins! I also got the Bouchon Bakery cookbook for Christmas and I am SO EXCITED to make everything in it! The scones! The tarts! Multigrain bread! Looking forward to see what else you make from it :)

  18. petit4chocolatier says:

    These look over the top delicious and gorgeous!

  19. Oh boy, my Favourite Husband is gonna love these! Thanks.

  20. Gorgeous photos as always, Mama. These are the most perfect little corn muffins! Warm from the over with a slather of butter or toasted in the morning, I can just imagine how delicious they are. I can’t wait to get the Bouchon Bakery cookbook!

  21. Carolyn Chan says:

    These look fantastic and thanks for introducing these to me, they sound delicious!

  22. Oh my god how beautiful are those muffins. Have to try them soon. Love your blog :)

  23. These look scrumptious – and just the right size for healthy, scrumptious eating:) Thanks for sharing!

  24. Holy, Mama, these look good….alright, my new diet starts NEXT week ;-)

  25. dawnsurfs says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog because that led me to yours! I love to bake and anybody who follows Thomas Keller is tops in my book. I love your Southern California reference! I live on a little coastal island in floral and I wear hoodies even in summer. I am constantly surprised how many people wear shorts and flippers in the winter when it’s FREEZING! Gotta love it! Thanks again!

  26. PigLove says:

    I can just picture my chubby little jaws biting into one. They look delightful! XOXO – 🐷 Bacon

  27. Bianka247lv says:

    Reblogged this on QUEEN B lAS VEGAS and commented:
    Ive got to try these! thank you for sharing :)

  28. Love this recipie, especially for summer! Anything with fresh strawberries is right down my alley!

  29. Carole says:

    Hi there. Food on Friday: Corn on Carole’s Chatter is now open for entries. This looks like a good one! I do hope you link it in. This is the link . Please do pop back to check out some of the other links. Have a great week.

  30. Carole says:

    thank you for linking this in to Food on Friday. We are now getting a great collection of dishes using corn together. I hope you have stopped by some of the other links to check them out!

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog by Google Reader. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

  31. disashisoul says:

    This looks like the perfect corn muffin… I need these in my life! Thank you!

  32. I made these last week for a family brunch this past weekend. They were sooo good! Plus, I looked like a genius by following your suggestion to add corn kernels.

    Thank you for helping me achieve “Hero” status with my extended family.

    • These are the kind of comments that a food blogger loves to hear. Thank you so much for taking the time to write me! And I’m thrilled the muffins turned out good…and you are a hero!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,985 other followers