Spicy Grilled Corn

Spicy Grilled Cor

I’ve got a high school reunion coming up, a big one mind you, and I’d really like to lose 10 pounds, stat! Is that shallow of me. Okay, don’t answer.  At this point in my life, shouldn’t I be comfortable in my own skin?  After all, time and gravity has taken it’s toll on all of us. I’m not the only one who’s enjoyed her chocolate chip cookies and Snicker’s bars for the last 40 years, am I? My passion in life has been food and cooking, so what did I think was going to happen. Oh, and did I mention I’m not a big fan of exercise either. Shame on me!

My girlfriend Carol told me she lost 17 pounds doing Weight Watcher’s online. She calls me everyday and cheers me on, telling me, “you can do it”. So I joined, and each day I log on tracking each minute morsel I eat.  I bought all their frozen, packaged meals that only require me popping them into the microwave. Do you know how horrific this is for a person who lives to bake bread. I thought carbs were my friend, but I was so wrong.

I’ve spent a lot of time at my local farmer’s market buying tons of fruit and vegetables because they’re “zero” points on this diet. Geez, I even dislike the word diet. Anyway, today they had bins filled with the most amazing summer corn. It was screaming out to me, “grill me”! Sure, I know I should have gone for the green vegetables, but I broke down and bought the corn. And it was good.

If you don’t have a high school reunion coming up, then please, indulge yourself in sweet, summer corn on the grill. It’s easy, inexpensive, and oh-so-good.

Spicy Grilled Corn

Spicy Grilled Corn

  • 6 ears fresh corn with husk on
  • 1 stick of salted butter, room temperature
  • zest of  1 lime
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/3 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon finely minced cilantro
  • 1/4 cup cotija cheese or queso fresco
Directions
  1. Preheat your grill on medium-high.
  2. Take your corn with the husk on and place them in a sink of cold water to soak for about 20 minutes. Place something heavy on top of them to keep them submerged.
  3. While your corn is soaking, place your room temperature butter in a medium bowl. Add all the other ingredients, except the cheese, and combine with a spatula.
  4. After 20 minutes remove your corn from the sink and pull back the husks and remove the silk. Remove  some of the outer layers of the husks, but leave some on because you will be covering the corn back up.
  5. With a brush, brush a layer of the compound butter mixture onto the corn, cover back up with the husk, and wrap it in aluminum foil.
  6. Place the wrapped corn on the grill for about 12-15 minutes, turning every 3 minutes to evenly cook the corn.
  7. When you remove the foil and husk from the corn, brush again with the butter mixture, and sprinkle with cotija cheese.

Fresh Summer Corn

Mama’s Tips:

Plan in advance. You can leave your butter out overnight, and by the next day it will be the perfect consistency.

You can make your butter mixture 2 days in advance. Just cover and refrigerate it. When you are ready to use it, just bring it to room temperature.

For a party appetizer, cut corn into 1 1/2″ pieces and just insert a toothpick.

Spicy Grilled Corn

Recipe: Easy

31 Comments on “Spicy Grilled Corn”

  1. erinmotz says:

    This looks so good! I love corn on the cob, especially when it’s right off a grill. I’ll definitely be making this ASAP… now, I just have to buy a grill! ;)

  2. This recipe looks great! I will definitely try it.

  3. Gorgeous looking food you have there. I love corn (but) have never tried it grilled and definitely have it up there on my list of things to try for our next BBQ. Good luck for your reunion :)

  4. Joy & Ruin says:

    brilliant, i am going to try this with feta!

  5. This corn looks fresh and super delicious :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  6. That corn looks scrumptiously delicious!

  7. Mmmmm these look amazing :)

  8. A perfect summer side!

  9. pamisami says:

    Love it! It’s perfect!

  10. df says:

    We’re so thrilled that corn season has finally arrived, and this looks like a keeper!

  11. I love corn this way!! The combination of lime spices and cheese is perfect. I’m totally making this!! Many congrats on making Top 9!!

  12. I have a reunion coming up too, but no “D” word for me! I’m firing up the grill! Yum.

  13. You’ll do fine at the renunion. This corn looks delicious and congratulations on making the foodbuzz Top 9!

  14. Clo says:

    Wow, these pics make me want to run right out and buy some corn! Thanks for sharing, Mama.

  15. Corn is a sick obsession of mine. I can’t wait for summer to come because of it. I’m sure because it is so good that you can be forgiven for this lapse! :) Good luck on your diet and thanks for sharing. Congrats on top 9!!

  16. That is some seriously gorgeous corn! I know what you mean about the ten pounds. I have a wedding in September – yikes!

  17. I made Mexican corn this weekend without the husk. Now I’m curious about this method. Will be trying soon.

  18. carol says:

    Hi Mama S – thanks for the shout out!! This looks delicious – Forget the points – I’m indulging! Love the GREAT photos too – Truly a summer treat! xo

  19. I love your salt and pepper shakers. So cute! heading out now to the farmer’s market for some corn right now. I must try this.

  20. bkr12 says:

    That corn looks delicious! And bugger the high school reunion – I am quite sure they will have been shovelling down Snickers and choc chip cookies for the last 40 years as well. Who cares – life is short and its here to be lived!

  21. Grace says:

    These pictures are so mouth-watering. Your blog inspires me to create good food for my family. Thus, I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award: http://czechtheflip.com/2012/07/17/encouragement-from-a-very-inspiring-blogger/

  22. Jaclyn says:

    YUM! This looks like the perfect summer side.

    http://www.lauerland.wordpress.com

  23. I love corn still in the husk. Nothing worse than buying it at the store and you can’t tell how old it is! We wrap ours in foil and chuck them into the fire or onto the bbq. Yum!

  24. thefolia says:

    I eat corn with lime and red pepper too but I love the idea of adding cilantro and queso! Thanks, can’t wait to try!

  25. Your pictures are amazing and the corn looks delicious its a great recipe as usual Xx


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,985 other followers