Chocolate Pound Cake with Chocolate Glaze

Chocolate Pound Cake with Chocolate Glaze

I love firemen. Or maybe I should rephrase that. I admire firemen, I’m in awe of firemen, and I just think they’re very, very, cool.

Last Saturday as I was in the kitchen baking; I know, what else do I do, I heard my husband who had been trimming the trees in the backyard yelling, or should I say, screaming. When I rushed out to the back to find out what all the commotion was, he told me in this panicked voice, that there was a rattlesnake in the backyard. We do live in a somewhat rustic area of Los Angeles so it wasn’t too surprising, but they’re definitely not critters you want to run into up close and personal.

I quickly called 911, because rattlesnakes can be deadly you know, and was told by the dispatcher that the fire department would be there in five minutes. It was quite the sight when this huge truck drove up to our house; I can only imagine what the neighbors thought, and out strode four of LA’s finest to take on their ominous opponent in my backyard. They were calm and collected and focused on the task at hand. One firefighter put on special protective gear and armed himself with special snake fighting equipment.

These guys show no fear; they go where no one else wants to or dares to. But that’s their job. Well these guys caught our backyard bully. Yep, snapped him right up. It was by the way, gigantic. At least four feet long, and that rattle was a’shakin! I don’t think I saw that man break a sweat!

Well, I had just finished icing the cake I had been working on,  and I immediately knew these brave warriors should be compensated with what else…chocolate. They gladly took the cake with them, and off they went to rescue another family in distress.

Chocolate Pound Cake

Chocolate Pound Cake with Chocolate Glaze

From Flavours by Donna Hay 

  • 8 ounces unsalted butter, softened 
  • 1 cup superfine sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 cup coca powder
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Beat the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until light and creamy. Add the eggs one at a time and beat well. Sift the flour, baking powder and cocoa over the butter mixture, and mix on low speed until combined. 
  2. Spoon the mixture into an 8-inch cake tin that has been lightly buttered and lined with parchment paper. I used an off-set spatula to evenly smooth the batter into the pan. Bake for 30-40 minutes (ovens differ greatly) until a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 10 minutes. Then, using the sides of the parchment paper, gently lift the cake out of the pan to finish cooling.

Chocolate Glaze

  • 6 ounces bittersweet or semi sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup (4 fl. ounces) heavy cream
Directions
  1. Place the chocolate and cream in a saucepan and over low heat, stir until melted and smooth. Set aside to cool at room temperature. I needed to add a tiny bit extra cream to make the glaze a little thinner.
  2. Place the cake in the refrigerator to chill for 30 minutes. pour the cooled glaze over the cake and then refrigerate to set.
Serves 8

Chocolate Pound Cake

Recipe: Easy

53 Comments on “Chocolate Pound Cake with Chocolate Glaze”

  1. Mindy Bowman says:

    Ok…I’m a sucker for chocolate! One question…how did you make or where did you get the little chocolate balls on top?

  2. I would be quite frightened by a rattlesnake in my backyard too. The icing on your cake is perfectly smooth, looks awesome :)

  3. This looks very, very good! Would be delicious with a cup of steaming coffee.

  4. Great story! Love how you combine baking with what’s going on around you! Four foot of snake? Wow! Love the fact that your husband screamed… and wasn’t afraid to! Will have to try this recipe over here in Phoenix! Thanks, Renee

  5. Oh my goodness, that looks so rich and decadent! Definitely one which I’ll have to bake soon. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  6. I’m dying for a bite of chocolate heaven :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. Wow…I would have done the same thing… no rattlesnakes for me. I have a nice raccoon that likes to visit us on the deck at night, cute but nasty little things and we have a few bears that like to “borrow” our garbage! The cake looks amazing, I can’t wait to try it!

  8. Carine says:

    This cake looks delicious and that was very nice of you to give it to the firemen. I think I would have done the same (and my husband would have asked me to bake another one for him ;-).
    I bet they appreciated it after a long day of bravery :-)
    I’m certainly bookmarking your recipe!

  9. sweetcraving says:

    That sounds like my worst nightmare, I love snakes but the small household kind haha. Luckily we don’t get anything remotely as exciting as that in England! Worst is a hedgehog or mouse? This cake looks lovely, I can’t seem to get enough of chocolate at the moment. And i’ve never made a pound cake before, so will definitely give this a go next time my craving kicks in.

  10. Nancy Tanner says:

    today is a good chocolate day for me… I am needing some chocolate happiness!

  11. PigLove says:

    THUD – You almost had me licking the computer screen. Wouldn’t be any calories there, would it? :) Looks delicious!

  12. thefoodery says:

    I “liked” your post as soon as I saw that photo, so gorgeous! How lucky for those firemen to get such an awesome treat, and how lucky you are to have such awesome firemen! :D

  13. sharann says:

    I’m totally making this for my birthday next month. Mmmm!!!!!

  14. What a ridiculously gorgeous cake! I’m glad no one got hurt! Lucky firemen too :D. This is one reason I love living in Britain – there’s nothing particularly dangerous here!

  15. and by “serves 8″ you mean “serves a pregnant lady and her growing baby,” right? :D

    this looks incredible, thank you for posting!

  16. Firemen notoriously love sweet things, so your treat probably hit the spot for them! I’m sure they’ll give you preferential treatment if you have any future emergencies (which I hope not!).
    And I’m glad your hubby was up on a ladder when he saw the rattler! Whew!

  17. putneyfarm says:

    Great post. And we would be happy to take care of the snake (we have them, too) for some of that cake…;-)

  18. erinmotz says:

    Umm, rattlesnake?!?! Holy cow! I live in FL and we found a 5-ft long solid black snake in the yard a few weeks ago – not cool. Dunno what it was though? And that cake?! I’ll take a bowl full of its icing, please. :)

  19. bkr12 says:

    Its not even 9am but my mouth is watering for a piece of that cake! I love your blog posts and recipes so I have nominated your blog for the Sunshine Award: http://mid-lifegrooving.com/2012/06/05/the-sunshine-award/

    keep those yummy recipes coming!

  20. Beth says:

    I could use a piece of this cholatty goodness right now!

  21. Beth says:

    oops, that should be chocolatey goodness.

  22. This looks delicious, and I must find a reason to make it! Many years ago when my husband was stationed in Florida we also encountered a rattlesnake visit. No firemen came to our rescue though. A neighbor pulled out a gun and shot it! I kid you not. Totally freaky for this CA girl. I suppose I should have been as thoughtful as you and baked them a cake ;)

  23. slowborg says:

    Oooooh yum! My mouth is watering…this MUST be made by me this week!

  24. Villy says:

    Oh, wow! The last photo is incredible! The consistency looks dreamy!

  25. I am in the chocolate heaven! Decadent and delicious!

  26. [...] A blog I have recently started following posts beautiful things that are often, cruelly, within my baking skill range. I have been wanting donuts for the last few weeks but so far the husband and I have resisted walking up to the Dunkin’ Donuts that is at our new corner. Unfortunately, today I found a recipe for donuts on this new blog, and not only were they donuts, they were baked, which meant they were possible in my kitchen, and that I can have two when they are done cooling. [...]

  27. NickkiT says:

    That must have been very scary! I’m so glad we don’t normally come across snakes in Scotland! I bet the firemen were appreciative of this gorgeous cake :-)

  28. thecatandthecoffeecup says:

    I think it’s probably safe to say that you made their day with your cake! :-)

    Four foot rattlesnake – heck, I’d be screaming too!

    Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. This chocoholic will most certainly be giving it a try.

  29. mamy says:

    first of all what a story about rattlesnake …. i believe that the fireman are so brave too and i think they deserve all the Delicious cake…
    looking forward

  30. Tamara says:

    One good turn deserves another….firemen to the rescue….mama’s got a chocolate cake for them…..this is such a nice story. The picture is making my mouth water. I can almost tase the icing….looks soooo goooood

  31. Michelle says:

    Oh my. I really hate snakes, even the harmless ones. That’s one lovely cake, though!

  32. mydearbakes says:

    I got hungry just by looking at your post! =)

  33. This looks fantastic! The prettiest chocolate cake I think I have ever seen!
    What a lovely treat for those firemen ;)

  34. I Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. If you’d like to accept this award then please take it to your blog and pass it on – if this is not your thing then please accept this as a compliment on your blog.

    http://onlifeandstuff.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/versatile-blogger-award/

    Ari

  35. Jasline says:

    Oh this chocolate cake looks sinfully good! It’s been a while I’ve made any chocolate desserts.. gotta start soon!

  36. Pretty harrowing experience! Up here in the mountains of Northern California there are people that will remove them from your house! I cannot imagine, but it’s apparently quite common. The cake looks so tasty. The interior is so divine that I would love to just poke my finger in there and pull out a big bite. Terrible, I know.

  37. LifeOfBun says:

    Oh no, you did not just post that….. this week. Now I want it :’( Okay imma have to go out to the store later.

  38. Food Frenzy says:

    Congratulations! This post was one of the top 5 viewed posts on Food Frenzy for June 2012.

  39. Jorie says:

    First off, this looks amazing. Secondly, as the daughter of a fireman, I can assure you that those men loved it! Whenever I visited my dad at the firehouse, it was pretty much an unspoken rule that we would bring along some type of treat for the firemen. It was usually consumed before we even left. So hats off for making someone’s day!

  40. Christina Mikus says:

    The cake looks great, but I think there is something missing in this recipe. I have made it twice, thinking 1st time I made a goof. Found the cake to be dry and has a bitter edge. I made the glaze with semi-sweet choc. and that didn’t seem to make a difference. I also added vanilla extract the 2nd time. My oven temp. is accurate so that isn’t an issue. My family didn’t care for the cake either.

  41. Anastasia says:

    I want to eat that cake and I want to steal that fork! – Everything is so beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,985 other followers