White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse

White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse

Oh come on, you know me by now. I can hear you saying, I can’t believe she’s writing about chocolate…again! But yeah, I am. You know it’s my favorite topic. But I’m going to switch it up a little, and this time post a recipe about white chocolate. I think I’ve really overlooked the virtues of white chocolate on this blog, to be quite honest with you. But I’m going to try and make up for it with this recipe for a White Chocolate and Vanilla Mousse.

I think what really prompted me to post this recipe was my most recent trip to Cost Plus World Market, where I found a big hunk of Callebaut white chocolate and whole vanilla beans on sale. This hunk of chocolate was just screaming mousse, and the end result was just heavenly. Is it too dramatic to call mousse heavenly? Well, I’m going to anyway. If you use whole vanilla bean in this recipe you will get these lovely black flecks throughout your mousse, but you can use vanilla bean paste, or vanilla extract if that is what you have, and still get fantastic results.

And now the best part…nuts. Nuts are my favorite food accessory, if there is such a thing. I think everything tastes better with nuts in it or on it, especially desserts. The pistachios are the perfect companion to this velvety, delicate mousse; and I love the combination of creamy and crunchy together. I loved it so much in fact, that I ate three of these mousses. Oh, did I really just admit that.

White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse

White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse

From Vanilla by Joanna Farrow

  • 1/2 cup shelled pistachio nuts
  • 7 ounces (good quality, Callebaut or Valrhona) white chocolate, chopped
  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon either vanilla bean paste, a whole vanilla bean or pure vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 4 egg whites
  • powdered sugar for dusting
Directions
  1. I purchased a bag of pistachio nut meats (at Trader Joe’s) so I did not have to shell the pistachios. If you cannot purchase them that way, make sure you take off all the brown skins. Then, transfer the nuts to a food processor and pulse until they are finely chopped.  I then transferred the nuts to a strainer for a good shaking to get rid of all the nut dust.
  2. I then put the chopped chocolate in a medium-sized plastic bowl with 3 tablespoons of the cream and microwaved, first for 20 seconds; stirred, 15 seconds; stirred, 10 seconds, stirred, etc. This method of chocolate melting seems to work best for me. Naturally, you can try placing the bowl over a double boiler, bringing the water to a simmer and then turning the heat off and letting the chocolate melt until smooth. 
  3. Using the whisk attachment on the electric mixer, lightly whip the remaining cream with the vanilla until very lightly peaking, then stir in the yogurt. Transfer mixture to another clean bowl. Clean out your mixer bowl very well and then dry. Beat the egg whites until just peaking.
  4. Fold the cream mixture into the melted chocolate, then gently fold in the egg whites. Spoon half the mousse mixture into 6 small glass dishes or cups (I got mine at Cost Plus World Market). Then sprinkle a layer of nuts, reserving some nuts to decorate the tops of the mousse. Add the remaining mousse and sprinkle with the reserved nuts. Chill for at least 2 hours and dust with powdered sugar just before serving.

Mini White Chocolate Mousse

Mama’s Tips: When melting white chocolate, be very careful not to overheat it (even for a few seconds) or it will turn into a gloppy mess.

The mini mousse’s will keep chilled in the refrigerator for a couple of days. Just cover with a piece of plastic wrap pressed on the surface of the mousse.

Cost Plus World Market has a great selection of mini serving glasses. If you don’t live near one of their retail stores, you can order from them online.

Recipe: Intermediate

47 Comments on “White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse”

  1. Stunning presentation, as always!

  2. skitalica says:

    hey, this is dangerously delicious :b

  3. Beautiful presentation and flavours for a very classy dish :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. So gorgeous! I absolutely love chocolate too, I can’t stop eating it – good thing it’s very good for you really… This sounds absolutely wonderful… You’ve given me an idea for my very own type of white chocolate mousse!

  5. This looks heavenly! Can’t wait to make it.

  6. thecatandthecoffeecup says:

    Oh, this sounds absolutely divine! And your presentation is lovely. Thank you for sharing :-)

  7. I love mousse and this does sound seriously heavenly!

  8. Tamara says:

    Mama, another beautiful presentation…I bet this would be a great follow up to the salmon burgers.. My mouth is WATERING.

  9. nijah06 says:

    Wow your chocolate vanilla mousse looks awesome.
    Great photos and presentation!!

  10. looks delicious! I wish you had calorie counts for these! I know, I’m so lame to ask for the calories lol , but I’m on a diet!

    • I know! Well, I don’t know the calorie count, but…heavy cream and chocolate…it can’t be good. But, that’s why I make mini desserts! In moderation it can’t hurt, right?

      • yeah I agree! Plus minis are so cute! Can you post something with low calorie count that’s dark chocolate? I would love it! I love your chocolate posts ! Yum!

  11. sugaredpecan says:

    This looks heavenly!

  12. Michelle says:

    Wow. And I don’t even like white chocolate…

  13. Beautiful photos and very thoughtful recipe. I often overlook white chocolate too but the thought of finding a gigantic block of Callebaut chocolate gets my pulse racing ;)

  14. How gorgeous! I love the layers of pistachio.

  15. putneyfarm says:

    This looks great. The pistachios are a great touch (and look great in the photos, too).

  16. msmckibbon says:

    This recipe looks delicious but what stood out for me are those beautiful, old spoons. Really nice.

  17. Mansi says:

    This looks heavenly, so no, there’s no problem in calling it “heavenly”:) love the flavor combo:)

  18. [...] White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse (mamasgottabake.wordpress.com) [...]

  19. foodiestuntman says:

    Congratulations on making the foodbuzz Top 9!

  20. FANTASTIC mousse! My husband is a huge fan of white chocolates and this would make a great dessert for his birthday! Love your spoons too…cute.

  21. Those spoons are to die for (mousse looks utterly delicious too!)

  22. This mousse looks so yummy, can’t wait to try it this week-end

  23. this dessert seems to be dangerously delicious *___*

  24. Carolyn Jung says:

    Oh man, I need to start shopping at Cost Plus more. First, I’m a sucker for sales on baking products. And second, I’m loving those dainty little glasses you bought.

  25. ‘A picture speaks a thousand words’ and those are just screaming “DELICIOUS!”

  26. yummie! I’m a chocolate lover as well. I gotta ask: do you take your own pics? they are fabulous!! New Blog I will have to follow and new recipes I will have to try ;-)

  27. Nancy Tanner says:

    this looks so crazy great!

  28. Mmmm, these look luscious!!

  29. Beautiful photos! I love white chocolate mousse. Sooo decadent!

  30. [...] White Chocolate & Vanilla Mousse(mamasgottabake.wordpress.com) [...]

  31. This looks absolutely divine. Love the presentation. Mousse looks light yet creamy. Thank you for sharing.

  32. Anastasia says:

    They don’t just look delicious, they sound wonderful too – love pistachio, love chocolate, love vanilla whipped cream… Oh, Pininteresting this one!

  33. this looks so yummy, i always prefer white chocolate mousse over dark chocolate lol…beautyful picture also…

  34. Lovely, lovely, lovely. Did I mention lovely? I could see an alternative to this delicious mousse taken in a Persian route with honey and cardamon (to echo the pistachios – so Persian). Thank you for sharing your joy of cooking/baking with us – what a gift.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,998 other followers