Blackberry Financiers

Blackberry Financier

Last night I was asked to come back to the pastry school I graduated from to mentor/judge the graduating student’s final presentations. I feel honored every time Chef Cecilia DeCastro asks me back to do this. Graduating from her program was a very fulfilling experience for me as well as a sense of personal achievement.  Even though I’m old (and that’s a relative term) you never want to stop setting goals for yourself. In going through this program, Mama figured out that she definitely wanted to bake. Many of the students who go through her program go on to work as pastry chefs in restaurants, they cater, open bakeries, or like myself, they blog.

Anyway,  I am actually the perfect person to judge a final pastry presentation. Anyone who knows me will tell you I am obsessed with cookies, cakes and anything French. Each student had set up their own table filled with artistically displayed  macarons, Madeleines, Croquembouche and Pate a Choux, just to name a few. And yep, my job was to taste it. And that’s exactly what I did. Everything was wonderful, and I hope I get asked back to do this again. By the time I got home from the presentation I was good and sugared up, so I took the dog for a long walk.  When I got up this morning, last night’s event had inspired me to bake. So here is my take on a French pastry called a financier. Yum.

Blackberry Financiers

Blackberry Financiers

From Bon Appetit Magazine 

  • 1/2 cup plus 5 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 5 large egg whites, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • nonstick vegetable spray or mini muffin liners
  • 2 cups fresh (or frozen, thawed) blackberries, halved
Directions
  1. Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Simmer until browned bits begin to form. Continue to simmer frequently scraping up browned bits at bottom of pan, until dark brown, but not burnt, about 6-7 minutesDo not take your eyes off the saucepan has the butter can burn in an instant.  Scrape the butter and the browned bits into a medium bowl and let it cool for about 5 minutes.
  2. Next, process almonds and flour in a food processor until nuts are finely ground. Transfer to a medium bowl, whisk in 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar. Add egg whites and mix until smooth. Fold in honey.
  3. Fold browned butter into batter. Cover and chill for 1 1/2 hours.
  4. Place the rack in the middle and preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Coat muffin cups with non-stick spray, or use muffin liners for easier release. Fill cups to 3/4 full and press 3 blackberry halves into the batter.
  5. Bake until cakes are golden brown and just cooked through, 15-16 minutes. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, and then remove cakes from pan. Dust with powdered sugar just before serving.

Blackberry Financiers

Recipe: Intermediate

37 Comments on “Blackberry Financiers”

  1. Oh, Mama. Those are spectacular. You make some of the nicest things. I’ve never heard of a financier, I must make some :D

  2. cobo0521 says:

    Goodness… these look incredible! I’ll have to whip up some of these! :-D

  3. amyjurist says:

    Yummy! Pix are great as always and recipe’s easy to follow!

  4. Priscilla M says:

    Lovely! Can’t wait to try it!

  5. trialsinfood says:

    what a terrible job you had! ;) these financiers look yummy! what makes a financier a financier exactly?

    • Well, these French pastries were originally served around the financial district in Paris, hence the name financier. The fundamental components of the pastry are almond flour, browned butter and egg whites, which differentiates this pastry from others. Plus, they’re just so darn good!

  6. piesandeyes says:

    Those look like some great muffins! I love blackberries!

  7. YOu can’t go wrong with a dessert with such a lovely name. I like a clafoutis too with fresh berries. Now that I realize you went to pastry school it all makes sense that your baking is SO wonderful!

    We’re trying Red Medicine this Saturday night for a friend’s birthday. Have you been? And if so, what are your thoughts?

  8. I adore blackberries! I will absolutely be trying these soon. I’m wondering, do you think I could use dewberries? Dewberries are in season in my area right now.

    • I have to admit I have never heard of a dewberry, but I’m sure it would work equally as well in this pastry as long as it didn’t get too mushy. Where is it that you live?

  9. kat says:

    i LOVE everything you make!! this one is no exception! :)

  10. danbalva says:

    Those look amazing! Great post! I would also like to nominate you for the HUG award!
    See http://hurdlestohappiness.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/the-hug-award/ and
    http://ahopefortoday.com/2012/01/14/hope-unites-globally-hug-award-guidelines/ for guidelines! Congratulations!! ☺ Best, Dan

  11. calmyourbeans says:

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

  12. Jasline says:

    The financiers look absolutely divine! They are so small I think I can pop several into my mouth at once! ;)

  13. chowgals says:

    I am absolutely making these! Just had a huge harvest of wild blackberries around our house!

  14. Kathy says:

    Oh my, I love blackberries and would so enjoy one of these little cakes with my cup of tea! They look lovely! I guess I’ll have to make some!

  15. df says:

    These are beautiful and classy and I love the name. I wasn’t familiar with financiers before. My husband will swoon when he hears I’ve found a blackberry recipe!

  16. Oh, would have loved to gawk at all the pastries! Your financiers look delicious!

  17. These look stunning! I could down a tray for breakfast the way I am drooling right now :P

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  18. What an honor to be asked back to judge! Your blackberry financiers look amazing!

  19. Wow… I pinned this beauty. GREG

  20. Oh my, this looks so incredibly fluffy/buttery! You have no idea what I’d do right now to get my hands on one of these babies.

  21. onlinehitchhiker says:

    Ooh, nice. I might be able to persuade MY mama to bake these. She’s been talking about baking cookies the other day. Haha.

  22. This looks delicious – I love blueberries and almonds!

  23. This looks deicious – I love blueberries and almonds!

  24. Ahh blackberries… We have an abundance of them that grow out behind our house. I was just thinking I can’t wait until it’s berry season. Your fanaciers look absolutely delicious. Love your blog by the way!

  25. wordpressreport says:

    Reblogged this on WordPress Report.

  26. erinmotz says:

    Your pictures… I mean really. So gorgeous! Funny how a picture of a muffin can evoke so many positive emotions. Now I’m all warm and fuzzy, haha.

  27. SimplySage says:

    Oh this looks luscious!
    I want to thank you for visiting and liking my hydrangea blog post.
    In the midst of the busyness of being Freshly Pressed I really appreciate that you took the time.
    Peace,
    Alexandria


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,952 other followers