Mini Chocolate Mousse

Chocolate Mousse

Chocolate Mousse

Last weekend my job was to bring a dessert to a friend’s wedding shower. I thought I had been handed quite a daunting task. I knew that if I was going to serve dessert to a group of women in Los Angeles that it would have to be in mini portions. Perfect.  No problem. What better way to end a meal than with a rich, creamy, chocolatey mousse.  Any three ounce vessel will work for the mini portion.  Being the Mama that I am, it made me very happy to see that everyone had finished their desserts.

Mini Chocolate Mousse

Mini Chocolate Mousse

Mini Chocolate Mousse 

From Tyler’s Ultimate 

  • 6 ounces semi sweet chocolate, chopped (good quality)
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 cup, plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup chilled heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions
  1. Bring about an inch or two of water to a simmer in a saucepan; put the chocolate and butter in a heat proof bowl and set it over the pan. Stir with a wooden spoon until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth. At no time can any water get into the chocolate or it will seize. Remove the bowl from the heat and let the mixture cool slightly. Then whisk in the egg yolks, one at a time until the mixture is smooth.
  2. In the bowl of your electric mixer, beat the egg whites with the whisk attachment until foamy. Add the cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form. Gradually beat in 1/4 cup of sugar until stiff peaks form.Gently transfer  the egg white mixture to a grease-free bowl, and rinse the electric mixer bowl with very cold water.
  3. In the cleaned bowl of the electric mixer, beat the heavy cream until it begins to thicken. Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar and the vanilla and continue beating until the cream holds soft peaks.
  4. Next, stir a spoonful of the egg white mixture into the chocolate mixture to lighten it, then fold in the rest. Next, fold in the whipped cream, do not overwork the mousse or it will become heavy. You can now evenly divide the mousse among your glasses. This recipe will serve 4 regular sized portions, or about 10 mini portions.

Mama’s Tips:

  1. Do not get any egg yolk into the egg whites, or stiff peaks will not form.
  2. Make sure all bowls and utensils used to whip egg whites are grease-free, or stiff peaks will not form.
  3. Do not get any water into chocolate, or the chocolate will seize.

Recipe: Intermediate


20 Comments on “Mini Chocolate Mousse”

  1. piesandeyes says:

    They look delicious! I am sure there is none left!

  2. Mama, oh mama. This looks WONDERFUL. So brilliantly presented. A little different from my own rendition, but what’s the point of difference if the world hasn’t any. Wonderful.

  3. Fantastic looking desserts.

    Cheers,
    Jed
    http://sports-glutton.com
    Sports, Food, Libations & More

  4. Oh yum! I made Frugal Feeding’s chocolate mousse last Saturday and it was delicious. This one looks equally delicious…another recipe for me to bookmark! :)

  5. Debbie Greene Genova says:

    This really looks fabulous ! I have never seen such a beautiful and delectable collection of food than what you present Sheryl ! Thank you for all your hard work. You are amazing :) Love,Debbie

  6. carol says:

    Dear Mama S

    I want one now!!!!! Could be my favorite! Beautiful – and looks so yummy!

  7. What beautiful photography, as usual. And delectable-looking mousse!

  8. m&m says:

    those look sooooo delicious!

  9. Clo says:

    Lovely presentation! Wish I could download one ala the Jetsons! ;)

  10. I love chocolate mousse myself! Gorgeous petit desserts you created for the LA crowd! I myself would put my hand up for the latter portions!
    Ha ha :)

  11. I love tastes of mini desserts! These look delicious!

  12. Tamara says:

    Mama, mini chocolate mousse they look yummo and are a perfect way to end a meal…Once again, I love your photography….

  13. Chris Hall says:

    Must … have … one … no two. May I have two, please.

  14. Mmmmm my sisters would love this recipe!

  15. The perfect ending to any meal
    Thank you for stopping by blog so that I can discover yours
    Your pictures are breath taking

  16. calmyourbeans says:

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    Your photos are just gorgeous! And that recipe looks so good, I’ve been trying to find a good mousse, I think I may have found it!

  18. Shannon McCarthy says:

    These minis remind me of the dessert samplers at PF Changs. What a great idea, though. I bet yours taste a whole lot better. Thanks for sharing; enjoy your blog.
    - Shannon @ Crumb Cake Creations


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,962 other followers