Roasted Pineapple

Roasted Pineapple

When someone says the word dessert, I automatically think of chocolate. In my mind at least, it’s not dessert unless it is chocolate. But alas, everyone is different and not everyone’s taste buds respond to the same thing.

This weekend I’m hosting a birthday dinner at my house for a good friend. As I was planning the menu he informed me that he doesn’t like chocolate, and could I come up with a fruit dessert instead. Fruit, really… This would be a challenge, but Mama is not one to back down from a challenge. I was leafing through one of the many food publications that I have, and found this recipe for Roasted Pineapple with Honey and Pistachios in Bon Appetit Magazine. Truthfully, I haven’t really roasted a lot of fruit in my day. I love roasting vegetables as the roasting process brings out the natural sweetness in produce, and allows the vegetable’s flavor to remain simple and unencumbered.

I did a test run on this recipe today and fell in love with the results. The pineapple became tender and sweet as it caramelized, the creme fraiche added a tart contrast while the nuts brought a little bit of added crunch to the dish. I thought it tasted perfect! Hello fruit, goodbye chocolate. Well, maybe just this once.

Roasted Pineapple

From Bon Appetit Magazine

  • 1/2 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1 medium, ripe pineapple, peeled, cored, cut lengthwise into 8 wedges
  • 1/4 cup creme fraiche or yogurt
  • 1/3 cup, unsalted pistacios, rough chopped
  • 2 tablespoons torn fresh mint leaves 
Directions
  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F and then line your baking sheet with parchment paper. If you don’t, you’ll have a nasty mess to clean up from the burnt sugar. Whisk the first three ingredients together in a medium bowl until the sugar is dissolved. Place the pineapple slices in a 8″ baking dish and pour the marinade over the slices, tossing to coat. Let it sit for 10 minutes. Place the pineapple slices, one flat side down on your baking sheet and save the marinade.
  2. Roast your pineapple for 15 minutes. Turn the slices and brush with your reserved marinade several times and roast until tender and caramelized, another 15 minutes. Remove from oven and drizzle the remaining marinade over and let slices cool.
  3. Divide pineapple slices among your plates. Spoon the creme fraiche, yogurt or even vanilla ice cream over the pineapple and garnish with the nuts and mint. Serves 4
Recipe: Easy

18 Comments on “Roasted Pineapple”

  1. That’s a beautiful dessert. Thanks, now I have to bake too = )

  2. Yum! My boyfriend loves pineapple, so this looks like a winner to me!

  3. Makes me want to run out and buy a pineapple! YUM.

  4. sugaredpecan says:

    Oh my, this is mouth watering good!!!

  5. Roasted pineapple or bbq’d is one of my favorites! Whenever my guy and I partake in Brazillian BBQ he lays finishes on flank beef, I prefer to finish with pineapple! This looks insanely good, lucky friend!!!

  6. These turned out beautifully! I have never thought to make them without a bbq or something on the grill. They are a lovely snack and do make a great dessert!

  7. I love pineapple and this birthday dessert looks so refreshing!

  8. That roasted pineapple looks so good! I love the coloring it gets. And I bet the flavor profile is delightful.

  9. myfudo says:

    Haven’t tried roasting pineapple before. I’d like to try…Looks really delish!

  10. These look so good – I love normal pineapple but roasted is exquisite :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Strawberry Hot Fudge Choc Cobbler

  11. Jackie says:

    I’m always so baffled by people who don’t like chocolate. It’s like saying, “Puppies? So ugly, yuck. Can’t stand ‘em.” BUT I love this dessert, it reminds me that summer isn’t too far off!

  12. Lesley says:

    Looks heavenly! I haven’t roasted much fruit in my day either, but it is a great idea!

  13. ileana says:

    Love how simple this is. Looks fantastic!

  14. This is a great recipe ¡¡ I remember that when I was I child we used to go to a restaurant quite frecuently and every time I had as a dessert a “Piña al caramelo”. It was a slice of fresh pineapple roasted with granulated sugar and garnished with crème fraîse whisked with sugar and few drops of golden rum and a quenelle of vanilla ice cream. It was just gourgeus… :)

  15. lensaddiction says:

    I did this but roasted the pineapple whole for two hours! The house smelled DIVINE and lovely juices caramelised in the dish. Too damn easy and so tasty

  16. Jamie Oehme says:

    made it for dinner… so, so good


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,962 other followers