Use Your Noodle…kugel, a sweet noodle pudding

Kugel… you’ve gotta love that word. It’s roots are Eastern European, just like my own. My mother’s been making this dish for as long as I can remember. Eating it brings back warm family memories of holiday dinners with relatives no longer with me.

Kugel is generally served as a side dish with dinner, but with apples and golden raisins in it, and it’s custard-like consistency, you could even serve it as a dessert. Yep, you wanna dive right in. You can eat it as is, or if you really  want the maximum kugel experience, you can serve it with a dollop of sour cream or apple sauce. Yes, yes I know it’s a bit high in calories, but we only eat it a couple times a year. It couldn’t hurt.

Sweet Kugel

Recipe by Marion Clofine, (my mother)

  • 2 cups hot, cooked noodles (I used the fine noodles, but wider noodles work equally as well)
  • 2 T softened butter
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c golden raisins
  • 1 Granny Smith apple cut into very thin pieces
  • 1/4 c sugar & 2 t cinnamon combined together to sprinkle on top

Recipe

  1.  Mix hot noodles with butter until butter melts.
  2.  In medium bowl, whisk eggs, sugar, sour cream and salt together. Fold in cottage cheese, then milk and vanilla.
  3. Gently fold noodles into this mixture. Add raisins* and apples.
  4. Pour mixture into 8 x 8 pan that has been coated in cooking spray. Sprinkle top with cinnamon/sugar mixture. Bake in 325 degree oven for 50-60 minutes until lightly browned and when inserted toothpick comes out clean.

* I soak the raisins in warm water for 10 minutes to plump them up.  A plump raisin is a good raisin.

Check out this recipe in The Basics,  an online lifestyle magazine.

13 Comments on “Use Your Noodle…kugel, a sweet noodle pudding”

  1. Carol says:

    Yum!!!! Looks sooo good!

  2. lynn says:

    Sweet Kugel for a sweet New Year!

  3. This does look like something I do need to try. I have never had Kugel-obviously I am missing a sweet treat. Glad your mother shared this with you so you can pass along. Your pictures do look tempting. Yum!

  4. Berte Bass says:

    Can’t wait to try. Sounds delicious. Berte

  5. Tamara says:

    I’m sure your mother was happy to see this posting. I know there are a hundred recipes for kugel, but I’ll be sure to try this one.

  6. Michelle C. says:

    Sheryl, this looks and sound so good! I’m going to make this (as soon as the weather cools off…)

  7. This looks so delicious. I’ve never made a kugel, but I need to change that!

  8. This is something I really want to try. I remember having kugel as a little girl and not liking it, but I think now that I’m a (sorta) adult, I could really go for this. I’ve bookmarked your recipe.
    *kisses* HH

  9. mjskit says:

    What a fantastic noodle casserole! I’m definitely picking up apples at the market this week and make this! A great recipe!

  10. [...] It sounds both inventive and tasty.  This recipe is brought to the THE BASICS by Sheryl Aronow of Mamas Gotta Bake.  Sheryl also explains in her post about the origins of this dessert and you might be [...]

  11. Nicole says:

    What kind of noodles are we talking? Egg noodles or just regular pasta?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,921 other followers