Plate Malibu

Turkey burger with organic lettuce, tomato, peppers & avocado with sweet potato fries

It was my friend Zonia’s birthday today and I was taking her out to lunch to celebrate. We were headed to a restaurant called Plate in Malibu right on the Pacific Coast Highway.  It’s located in a non-descript strip center that it shares with a health food market, but it has a glorious view of the Pacific Ocean. As we park the car and walk toward the restaurant, we both stop and take in a deep breath of that salty, ocean air. Ah, we’re relaxed already! I’ve been to Plate several times and I keep coming back for that simple reason, the food tastes really good.

The restaurant is not very big, and the decor is minimalist and zen-like. The entire front of the space is glass with an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean which naturally enhances the dining experience.

Ginger Pear Iced Tea

I’m an iced tea aficionado, so I’m very impressed with their exotic selection of organic iced teas. Zonia ordered the raspberry, and I got the ginger pear. I’ve never seen tea served like this before, but the tea steeps in a little pitcher and then the waiter pours it over the bottom pitcher of ice. Next time I would share the drink with another person as it’s certainly enough for two, and because it was expensive.

I’m a burger girl. If I had to pick my last meal, it would be a burger and fries. But like everyone else these days, I’m trying to make healthier choices and eat less red meat, sooooo I opt for the turkey burger (pictured above, $12.50). It was just as satisfying as any beef burger I’ve ever had. The burger is charbroiled and topped with fresh, organic lettuce, tomato, peppers and avocado. Buns are important, and this one was perfect as it didn’t fall apart as you ate the burger. Their fries are fried in rice oil and they were light and crunchy.

Curry chicken salad in a papaya over organic greens with a honey raspberry vinaigrette.

Plate touts itself as healthy and organic, and that was evident in the curry chicken salad ($12.00). Everything tasted so fresh. The spice of the curry, the sweetness of the papaya and the bitterness of the greens was a lovely layering of flavors, and the toasted croutons added  a nice textural contrast. You can tell I really liked this dish.

Flourless Chocolate Cake

So what’s a birthday without cake. You didn’t think we were going to leave without dessert did ya?  Their rendition of flourless chocolate cake was light and not too sweet, and nicely plated as well. A great ending to a very enjoyable lunch.

The service at Plate was professional and attentive.  Parking can be a problem at other restaurants along the PCH, but there is plenty of free, rooftop parking. It’s stress-free dining at it’s best. Plate is opened seven-days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I appreciate that they use natural, organic and locally harvested ingredients; free-range chicken, cage free eggs and meats from known sources. Come on people, if you’re dining out, these things should be important to you.

Plate, 22601 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90265    310-317-6800

5 Comments on “Plate Malibu”

  1. 3meals2snacks says:

    If I could reach through the computer for that meal (any or all of it), I’d be a happy girl. Looks fabulous and deliciously described. Cheers.

  2. Ellen says:

    Thanks for another great restaurant referral Sheryl! Will definitely check this out.

  3. Tamara says:

    good review…I hope the Plate likes it…I did…

  4. Lauren says:

    I have been to Plate as well and really like it. Haven’t tried the turkey burger yet, but your appetite appealing photograph sure makes me want to!

  5. Mark says:

    Great post. I love finding restaurants that make simple dishes well. There are no need for bells and slide whistles when you can find good organic ingredients for great dishes. If I’m ever around the area, I will have to pay Plate a visit. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,999 other followers