Vermont Kitchen & Bar – Los Feliz

Ahi Tuna Tacos

I just love getting out of the San Fernando Valley.  It’s been my home for over thirty years, but there is a wonderful world that exists beyond Ventura Boulevard. One of my favorite neighborhoods to go to is Los Feliz. It’s like being in a 1940′s film noir. A place where you might have expected to find Robert Mitchum walking the streets wearing a felt fedora. I love the architecture of this neighborhood, original 1930′s and 40′s buildings mixed in with 1970′s strip centers. I was spending the afternoon with my friends Amy and Gail and we decided to try out a place for lunch called Vermont Kitchen & Bar.

Vermont Kitchen & Bar

The restaurant has a very cool and funky vibe. The building is from the early 1940′s and had originally housed Sarno’s Bakery & Italian Restaurant. The interior has so much character with it’s exposed brick walls, arched ceilings and columns. For lunch they have a fairly large menu offering sandwiches, burgers, brick-oven flatbreads, salads and both large (entree size) and small plates. To start with, our server Cody suggested that we try the Ahi Tuna Tacos ($13), with cumin-avocado puree, jicama slaw and served in taro root shells. The dish comes with 6 small tacos which was perfect for three people to share.  I loved this dish; the ahi had tons of flavor and the taro root shells were a delicious departure from the more conventional tortillas. I will order this dish the next time I return.

Veggie Burger with grilled red onion, tomato, avocado and roasted red pepper sauce

For Gail, the vegetarian diner, we ordered the veggie burger ($11) with grilled red onion, tomato, avocado and roasted red pepper sauce. I split this with her, and I definitely did not miss the meat. The veggie patty was moist and the onions added a great layer of flavor. It also came with a little side salad.

Wild Forest Mushroom with sauteed leeks, cheese sauce, white truffle oil and parmigiano reggiano

Cody suggested that we try one of their brick-oven flatbreads and we chose the Wild Forest Mushroom ($14), with sauteed leeks, cheese sauce, white truffle oil and Parmigiano Reggiano. We all enjoyed the fresh and earthy combination of ingredients and they nailed the flatbread. It was a very satisfying dish.

Sweet Potato Fries & Hot and Skinny Fries

If you’ve read any of my previous blogs, then you know I order fries with every meal. We ordered the combination of sweet potato fries and hot and skinny fries ($6). These had a real kick to them, and I gotta say I loved ‘em!

Vermont Kitchen & Bar 1714 N. Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90027 323-661-6163

Back to Restaurant Reviews

3 Comments on “Vermont Kitchen & Bar – Los Feliz”

  1. Tamara says:

    This sounds like another great adventure…I love your descriptions not only of the food, but the restaurant environment. If I get to Los Feliz I certainly will stop at the Vermont.

  2. tiffany says:

    This looks like a wonderful meal!

  3. wanda says:

    My mouth is watering from your amazing photos and your delicious description of the food!
    Another beautiful review that shows how passionate you are about your blog.
    Love it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,939 other followers