Huckleberry Hounded – Huckleberry Cafe & Bakery/Santa Monica

My good friends Lauren and Cindy have hounded me for so long to make the trip to Huckleberry Cafe & Bakery in Santa Monica. Knowing how I love my bread and pastries, they couldn’t believe that I’d never been there. Since we were going to a vintage clothing fair at the Civic Center, we thought this would be the perfect opportunity. Cue the California sunshine, blue skies and cool breezes. It’s February, the dead of winter everywhere else, and it’s 80 degrees in Santa Monica.

I’m an ambience kind of girl. Yes, the food is the focus, but I love when I walk into a joint, and it makes me feel comfortable and welcome. That’s how I would describe Huckleberry. ┬áIt was the height of brunch service and the place was packed with hip urban types, young and old. We had to wait a little while to get seated, but once we did, the place was buzzing with a mellow energy.

To place your order one must stand in a long line. But this gave me the chance to view everything on the shelves, counters and cases. Oh Lawdy! Breads and pastries everywhere. Huckleberry makes all their baked goods right there on site. In fact, we could see their pastry chefs kneading their breads as the kitchen was open to public view. I felt like I was at one of the elementary school bake sales I used to go to as a child. Amazing crusty breads and ciabatta’s, hearty cakes, cookies, cupcakes and muffins. See, this is what appeals to me. I’m not a fan of fancy French pastries, I love good ol’ homestyle goodies. Like mama used to bake, right?

As I made my way through this line I was enticed by fresh made salads, rustic sandwiches and baked goods as far as the eye could see. What to do, what to do!!! I finally decided on the cured salmon platter, with red onion, arugula, cucumber and cream cheese on country toast. Good choice. Simple, but so darn good. But, I would have to finish off the meal with a sweet. So I opted for a whole wheat scone. Scones can tend to be dry and crumbly, but this hit the spot.

The girls and I finished our brunch feeling very content as we left, and continued on our way for a fun day of shopping.

Back to Restaurant Reviews

4 Comments on “Huckleberry Hounded – Huckleberry Cafe & Bakery/Santa Monica”

  1. Ellen says:

    I’ve never been there! Must go now. Those pictures made my mouth water, and here I am with nothing but an english muffin in the fridge!

  2. nina says:

    sounds like heaven for you!!!

  3. Sally Jo Davis says:

    the photos are beautiful. lovin’ it!

  4. wanda says:

    Sheryl,
    Looks like my kind of place.
    Great job on your description and lovely pictures.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,998 other followers